More RAM vs Tighter Timing? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2007, 10:32 PM   #21 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: More RAM vs Tighter Timing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
yeah, but...HZ blows.
****** fanboy...
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 10:37 PM   #22 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: More RAM vs Tighter Timing?

dude, how do you get fanboy out of that?

hah hah HA. i am a fanboy. a big fat fuc*in fanboy you got it. yeah. but my Hz overclocks like my grammas walker pendejo. i own the ram im talking about...do you ? ummm...LOL

EDIT: oh no....aieeee...YOU DONT. lol i am speaking from experience. and you're speaking from...?
oh yeah...lemme know how that quad does WHEN YOU GET IT....blank blank blank LMAO "soon to be" WTFE
dont talk so much sh*t when you dont have the hardware in your posession. i have a set of gskill HZ, and they suck. so....PFFFFFFT.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 10:54 PM   #23 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: More RAM vs Tighter Timing?

*crickets chirping*
thats what i thought.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 10:59 PM   #24 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: More RAM vs Tighter Timing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
dude, how do you get fanboy out of that?

hah hah HA. i am a fanboy. a big fat fuc*in fanboy you got it. yeah. but my Hz overclocks like my grammas walker pendejo. i own the ram im talking about...do you ? ummm...LOL

EDIT: oh no....aieeee...YOU DONT. lol i am speaking from experience. and you're speaking from...?
oh yeah...lemme know how that quad does WHEN YOU GET IT....blank blank blank LMAO "soon to be" WTFE
dont talk so much sh*t when you dont have the hardware in your posession. i have a set of gskill HZ, and they suck. so....PFFFFFFT.
sry i was judging of majority vote that they are great overclockers as baron has them at 1100
just tryin to help out )
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 11:02 PM   #25 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: More RAM vs Tighter Timing?

LOL o ****** Lol ive asked Baron for screen shots um bout 10 times now and haven't seen them (no offense baron but produce nig-ga if you can). so as far as i am concerned baron dont got ****. dude i have them and i can assure you that MINE dont go over 1066 and thats at 5-5-5-15.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 01:18 AM   #26 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: More RAM vs Tighter Timing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
dude, how do you get fanboy out of that?

hah hah HA. i am a fanboy. a big fat fuc*in fanboy you got it. yeah. but my Hz overclocks like my grammas walker pendejo. i own the ram im talking about...do you ? ummm...LOL

EDIT: oh no....aieeee...YOU DONT. lol i am speaking from experience. and you're speaking from...?
oh yeah...lemme know how that quad does WHEN YOU GET IT....blank blank blank LMAO "soon to be" WTFE
dont talk so much sh*t when you dont have the hardware in your posession. i have a set of gskill HZ, and they suck. so....PFFFFFFT.
ok i can hardly understand u lol, slow down with the typing! Geez!
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 04:44 AM   #27 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: More RAM vs Tighter Timing?

yeah i get excited sometimes.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 07:30 AM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: More RAM vs Tighter Timing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
LOL, i upgraded from 750Watt Toughpower to Antec Quattro 850Watt, was gonna get the Cooler Master 850 Watt CompUSA.com - Cooler Master Real Power Pro 850 Watt Internal Power Supply Unit - RS-850-EMBA - Computer Upgrades Ľ Power Supplies

But decided, I want a Modular one. So got this Antec instead.

Also, I just reseated my heatsink, loving it. I found out that the thermalpaste I used, Zalman one, I didnt apply enough and it just wasnt touching the heatsink at all.

Now, I applied a Arctic Silver 5 on this one, in the middle and twisted it for 30 seconds till it got hard. Hehe.

Now temps went from 45C to 38C at idle. Not much difference but load made a lot of difference, 20C difference!
thats a bit overkill don't you think? settle with a corsair 520 or 620, and use the extra cash for something like a sound card with good speakers or something...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 08:19 AM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: More RAM vs Tighter Timing?

nagasama u idoit, hz are the best overclockers ever way better than xms2.

mine r at 1200mhz right now 5-5-5-15 1t timings, from 800mhz 4-4-4-12 2t
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 01:21 PM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: More RAM vs Tighter Timing?

I think I have gotten mine to 1200MHz at 5-5-5-15 and 2.1 Volts.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM specs? simple Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-17-2007 11:02 AM
Free RAM? o.O carnageX New Systems | Building and Buying 14 09-09-2007 05:55 PM
Ram overclocking question Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-08-2007 11:21 PM
G.skill HZ Ram and P35 DS3R Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 18 09-07-2007 06:53 AM
512MB Ram On-board....Only shows 192MB ??? Katmandu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 09-06-2007 12:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.