More RAM vs Tighter Timing? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2007, 12:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: More RAM vs Tighter Timing?

^^not to mention operating voltage, especially if you are planning to overclock them.
if you were not overclocking at all, i dont think it would be a big deal as long as they were the same speed.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 01:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: More RAM vs Tighter Timing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
hmm pinoy3000, ur making quite a lot of threads ive noticed.........

anyways, y not just get these?:

Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

Newegg.com - OCZ Platinum Revision 2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

just to rebate n save urself money. That's what im probably going to do.
Whats funny is this is the exact set up im running, 2 ocz (gold not plat) and 2 xms2 and running them both at 800mhz 4-4-4-12 with no issues. I bought them because you can only do 1 rebate per household, so i double rebated.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 02:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: More RAM vs Tighter Timing?

lol that is kind of a funny coinkydink. i would think that pretty much any ram that you run at stock speed would be able to run together.
i ran 2gb of HZ with 2gb of xms2c4 for a little while.
they didnt like to play nice together when i tried to overclock them both though.
then, i ditched my lem0n-dont-overlock-worth-a-sh**-HZ's and bought another 2x 512 of xms2c4.
now everyone is happy.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 02:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: More RAM vs Tighter Timing?

Hello sorry for jacking your thread but it felt as if this could fit here,

does it mean that i should get two of the exactly same kind of sticks if i already have 2x1 GB, i want to buy two more sticks (2x1 GB), should i get some other ones with lower timings (they are cheaper than the ones i have now) or get the same ones i have now with same timings as the ones i already have. I am not sure if the timings and brands matter, of course i want to run dual channel on both pairs. And does the CAS latency matter too? Im completely lost when it comes to memories
Oliver- is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 02:51 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: More RAM vs Tighter Timing?

The thing to remember is that the memory is going to run at the slowest speed. So if you have 2 matched pairs of 2gb, and one has 4-4-4-12 timings and one has 5-5-5-15 timings, the machine is going to set it at 5-5-5-15 to keep the slower memory happy. So buying memory faster than what you currently have is not going to make a difference.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 03:00 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: More RAM vs Tighter Timing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
The thing to remember is that the memory is going to run at the slowest speed. So if you have 2 matched pairs of 2gb, and one has 4-4-4-12 timings and one has 5-5-5-15 timings, the machine is going to set it at 5-5-5-15 to keep the slower memory happy. So buying memory faster than what you currently have is not going to make a difference.
does this apply to anything else other than the timings? Latency? What about compability then, will it matter what brand & model i get?

cheers
Oliver- is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 04:13 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: More RAM vs Tighter Timing?

For the most part, ram is ram. Unless you are trying to massively overclock it, its all going to work together just fine.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 04:29 PM   #18 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: More RAM vs Tighter Timing?

just get another 2 gb of hz, for the best performance, even though their is hardly a difference between 2 gb and 4gb, your best off investing $100 in future upgrades, which maybe, will be another 2 gb of RAM, but by then you will know what to get, why the heck do you have an 850-watt psu? you only need 500
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 04:59 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: More RAM vs Tighter Timing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
just get another 2 gb of hz, for the best performance, even though their is hardly a difference between 2 gb and 4gb, your best off investing $100 in future upgrades, which maybe, will be another 2 gb of RAM, but by then you will know what to get, why the heck do you have an 850-watt psu? you only need 500
LOL, i upgraded from 750Watt Toughpower to Antec Quattro 850Watt, was gonna get the Cooler Master 850 Watt CompUSA.com - Cooler Master Real Power Pro 850 Watt Internal Power Supply Unit - RS-850-EMBA - Computer Upgrades Ľ Power Supplies

But decided, I want a Modular one. So got this Antec instead.

Also, I just reseated my heatsink, loving it. I found out that the thermalpaste I used, Zalman one, I didnt apply enough and it just wasnt touching the heatsink at all.

Now, I applied a Arctic Silver 5 on this one, in the middle and twisted it for 30 seconds till it got hard. Hehe.

Now temps went from 45C to 38C at idle. Not much difference but load made a lot of difference, 20C difference!
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 10:29 PM   #20 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: More RAM vs Tighter Timing?

yeah, but...HZ blows.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM specs? simple Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-17-2007 11:02 AM
Free RAM? o.O carnageX New Systems | Building and Buying 14 09-09-2007 05:55 PM
Ram overclocking question Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-08-2007 11:21 PM
G.skill HZ Ram and P35 DS3R Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 18 09-07-2007 06:53 AM
512MB Ram On-board....Only shows 192MB ??? Katmandu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 09-06-2007 12:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.