Which is more powerful? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2006, 02:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default Which is more powerful?

Im buying a new cpu/motherboard combo

I can get both of these for around 300$ with a mobo

AMD FX-55
AMD x2 3800+

Which would be better for gaming? or Future Gaming?
Which one is more powerful?
__________________

blaackoran is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 02:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

Currently the FX55 is more powerfull, but when games start to utilize dual core, the x2 3800 will be more powerfull.


BTW... where are you getting an FX 55 with mobo for $300?
__________________

__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 09:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

private sale...how much more powerful is the fx-55? Im only thinking of the fx-55 because of the price i can get it at...i just dont see why people are willing to pay a premium for the fx series....
blaackoran is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 09:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

the FX series get great overclocks. you can overclock them without raising the FSB. ( i think :P) don't quote me on that.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 09:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

if you can get the FX-55 for $300 with a mobo...get it then sell it on ebay for more then go back and get the x2 3800
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 09:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Avalanch3
if you can get the FX-55 for $300 with a mobo...get it then sell it on ebay for more then go back and get the x2 3800
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 09:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

so basically..... the x2 is a better idea.... or maybe the opty 165..

What do you all think of this thing: ASRock 939Dual-SATA2

apparently can be modded for sli... and has a agp port so i can use my old card until the dx10 cards come out...
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 10:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

like mentioned above...the single core cpu's will be good for todays games...but in the future the x2 will be better

as for the motherboard...i havnt hurd to much about them.
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 11:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default

When games start fully utilizing dual cores the X2 will be out dated already. The FX-55 is your best bet.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 12:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

yeah i think im going to go with the fx-55, just because ill probably want to upgrade later anyway....and the fx series seems to hold its value very well...considering the fx-51 is still sellable even though its a 940 socket
__________________

blaackoran is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.