more juice? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2006, 06:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to Captain Buck
Default more juice?

i plan to upgrade my video card 6800gt in the near future preferable when dx10 is out i know its along way off but ive looked at the recent cards and alot recomend a 450watt ps and im wondering if u really need that much and will all cards from now on be the same or more i have a 420watt ps should i consider upgrading it too?

Captain Buck is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 07:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

Well just saying its a 420W psu isnt enough information. List the model number or just the manufactuer

AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 08:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to Captain Buck

this is it and no i didnt choose it, it came with my case lol
Captain Buck is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 08:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

i think you should buy a new power suplly!!! seeing as you are upgrading i would look at least 500w+
Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 09:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686

yeah that is a very cheap power supply. Like nitestick said, at least 500 watts and you probably will be fine.
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 10:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Waphlez's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976

Might be a little pricy but I would go for the Antec 550W ($85 dollars). When it comes to PSUs it's all about quality, which antec excells.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 10:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11

OCZ makes good psu's as well.. ill never deal with antec again.. i've had three antec psu's through this computer, each and everyone of them fried atleast one thing.. put an OCZ in it, never had a problem since...

Static_11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.