Mooving to AMD and not looking back! need help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2006, 10:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Exclamation Mooving to AMD and not looking back! need help!

I am currently saving for a gaming computer to run games such as WOW.I need to find an appropriate power supply for an SLI motherboard and eventualy 2 GeForce 7800GT cards....these are the specs from newegg:

1 Thermaltake SHARK VA7000BWA Black Aluminum ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail $169.00

1 DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR Expert Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail $199.00

1 eVGA 256-P2-N518 Geforce 7800GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail $379.00

1 AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Manchester 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Dual Core Processor Model - Retail $322.00

1 CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model VS1GBKIT400 - Retail $76.25

1 Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 300 MB/s Hard Drive -OEM $107.00

1 ViewSonic VA1912wb Black 19" 8ms LCD Widescreen Monitor - Retail $325.99

1 NEC Black IDE/ATAPI DVD Burner Model ND-3550A -OEM $39.75
__________________

__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 10:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to Reqlis
Default Nice but the ram is no good

If your going to spend that much money on a new system you should probably get better ram. I have user Value Select befor and it is really dissapointing. Go with some Corsair XMS or even Patriot ram. Everything else looks awesome!
__________________

Reqlis is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 10:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

do i need to stick to 7800 gt or go for gtx SLI?
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 10:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I don't see anything wrong with your ram if you stay away from intense OC'ing.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 11:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tyler1989
I don't see anything wrong with your ram if you stay away from intense OC'ing.
Are you kidding? Stay away from OC'ing? He's getting an SLI-DR Expert for gods sake! You don't get DFI and not overclock!
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 11:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

thats what i first planned to do anyway...of course i would OC a DFI!
__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 05:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Then yea your going to need new ram.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 07:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

well i plan to, any suggestions?
__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 08:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 78
Default

Some would say DFI and OCZ are a match. I'm still reading up on it.
__________________
[size=1]Antec Case w/Antec TruePower 2.0 430w
DFI LanParty Pro875 rev. A
P4 3.0@ 3.31 w/Zalman CNPS9500LED w/AS5
Corsair XMS3200 1gb (2x512) @ 245 2.5,3,3,6
WD 150GB SATA
SoundBlaster Auidgy 4 w/ Logitech x530
EVGA Geforce 7600GS 438/435
ffmedic12 is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 05:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

hows about a ENERMAX Liberty ATX12V 620W for 175 @ newegg?
__________________

__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.