monitor question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2007, 01:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Question monitor question

ok, I'm not so much of a graphics newb, but in ther realm of monitors, I am somewhat clueless. I know to look for resolutions, refresh rate, stuff like that. keep in mind, I am getting the EVGA 8800 Ultra and doing animation/gaming. what monitor (preferably 19-21") is best for me? I'm looking at this Samsung 226BW 22" Widescreen LCD Monitor - 2ms, 700:1(DC 3000:1) Contrast Ratio, WSXGA+ 1680 x 1050, Gloss Black, DVI at TigerDirect.com monitor, and just want to make sure it's good for what I'm doing and to make sure that the resolution is within the frame refresh rate with my Ultra. I don't want to make my fps slower by any means lol.

*this thread inspired by another recent thread... just didn't want to intrude and post a q in their thread *
__________________

__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 02:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: monitor question

That is one of the best 22" out there.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 02:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: monitor question

Newegg.com - SAMSUNG 226BW Black 22" 2 ms (GTG) DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 700:1(DC 3000:1) - Retail

$10 cheaper on NewEgg...and $10 cheaper in shipping (guaranteed 3 days delivery also).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 03:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: monitor question

yeah the samsung 22" 226bw black should rock. one of the best rated. and if your running an ultra there shouldnt be much problem at 24" 1920x res. at least there better not be cause i dont feel like blowin another 700$ lol

and even if you did get a monitor that would 'slow down' your fps.. you can always ru nthe game at a lower resolution, lol. ^_^
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 03:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: monitor question

i have the samsung 226bw, BEST MONITOR EVER. trust me. buy it. im tempted to buy another one just to show my support for it.
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 03:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: monitor question

samsung ftw!
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 05:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 25
Default Re: monitor question

Does the samsung 226bw have one of those glossy finishes on it? I havent seen one in person, but i have always liked the look of those shiny glossy screens! haha
Racasdorph is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 11:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: monitor question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Racasdorph View Post
Does the samsung 226bw have one of those glossy finishes on it? I havent seen one in person, but i have always liked the look of those shiny glossy screens! haha
It's matte or "flat".
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 12:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: monitor question

its not reflective if you mean that. which is great, so you dont end up looking at your room back at you
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 12:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: monitor question

Quote:
Originally Posted by taintedplay View Post
its not reflective if you mean that. which is great, so you dont end up looking at your room back at you
Yes, that works too.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.