Monitor goes in power save mode at startup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2006, 09:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Monitor goes in power save mode at startup

My monitor goes into power save mode at start up just after it starts to load windows.....the problem started after i just installed new drivers for my x1900xt video card.

As i tried to reboot my pc after installing the drivers is when the problem started....any ideas?
__________________

Whirlwind is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 09:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 195
Default

Have to tried to boot Windows using Safe mode?That way you could try lowering the resolution and refresh rate,might help.
__________________

johnyB_24 is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 10:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 376
Send a message via AIM to Saint71
Default

Check your power options in the control panel.
Saint71 is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 03:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
sheky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to sheky
Default

also make sure its set in digital if you have digital or analog if you have analog. not all monitors have this but mine did and it did the exact same thing when i first got it, scared the *bleep* outta me.

it varies w/ diff models if the other suggestions havent helped you enough. check the manual it came with.

if its an old screen that used to work it may be your GPU

*edit* ok if happend after the new drivers were installed, the drivers probably set your vid card to some crazy option that the monitor doesnt recognize, boot in safe mode and tell us if that works
sheky is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 05:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default

Thanks guys. Got it fixed.

Uninstalled the ATI video card drivers and then reinstalled them and it worked just fine.
Whirlwind is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.