Monitor cables - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2007, 02:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Comdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 233
Default Monitor cables

What's the score with monitor cables? I just swapped one VGA cable for another and am getting better colours and more brightness! I have an IBM ThinkVision C220P 22" CRT jobby. It can take DVI-A and DVI-B. Will I get EVEN MORE colours and beautifulness with DVI-B than this VGA cord? Also, I tried a Belkin VGA cable which was about a million metres long and noticed loads of ghosting! Odd since I got it out of an unopened packet!

My 22" goes up to 2048x1536 if that is relevant.

Cheers

-Com
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 NEO2-FR Socket 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ stock settings
Patriot 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Extreme Performance @ stock settings
MSI GeForce NX8800GT-Zilent 512MB [link]
2x 250GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA2 8MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB
Maxtor 40 gig drive
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card
Lite-on CD/DVDburner
Generic CD/DVD drive
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 PRO
600W Xilence Gaming Edition PSU
HP LP2475w 24" monitor [link]
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Intellimouse Explorer 2.0A9
Comdot is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 03:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Monitor cables

Maybe your settings reseted? DVI will give better color than VGA. DVI cable should also help with distance.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 03:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default Re: Monitor cables

not more colors but a higher quality picture, when you use vga the video outputs is digital, converted to analog then back to digital before being displayed on the screen. With a dvi cable there is no conversion from digital to analog, so a pure digital signal and a cleaner picture.
macdawg is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 04:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Comdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 233
Default Re: Monitor cables

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Maybe your settings reseted? DVI will give better color than VGA. DVI cable should also help with distance.
My settings stayed the same. I think it must be something to do with the condition of the cables... hence the very long Belkin cable gave a ghosting effect. Thanks for the tip on DVI distance.
__________________
MSI P35 NEO2-FR Socket 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ stock settings
Patriot 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Extreme Performance @ stock settings
MSI GeForce NX8800GT-Zilent 512MB [link]
2x 250GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA2 8MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB
Maxtor 40 gig drive
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card
Lite-on CD/DVDburner
Generic CD/DVD drive
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 PRO
600W Xilence Gaming Edition PSU
HP LP2475w 24" monitor [link]
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Intellimouse Explorer 2.0A9
Comdot is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 04:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Comdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 233
Default Re: Monitor cables

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdawg View Post
not more colors but a higher quality picture, when you use vga the video outputs is digital, converted to analog then back to digital before being displayed on the screen. With a dvi cable there is no conversion from digital to analog, so a pure digital signal and a cleaner picture.
Ah interesting. Well my gfx card has a couple of digital outputs... I use a DVI-VGA adaptor to enable me to use a VGA cable. If not more colours then what? Just more clarity/ brightness/ colour-differentation/ speed?
__________________
MSI P35 NEO2-FR Socket 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ stock settings
Patriot 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Extreme Performance @ stock settings
MSI GeForce NX8800GT-Zilent 512MB [link]
2x 250GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA2 8MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB
Maxtor 40 gig drive
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card
Lite-on CD/DVDburner
Generic CD/DVD drive
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 PRO
600W Xilence Gaming Edition PSU
HP LP2475w 24" monitor [link]
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Intellimouse Explorer 2.0A9
Comdot is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 04:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Comdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 233
Default Re: Monitor cables

This is interesting, and it mentions my model (IBM ThinkVision C220P): QXGA - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

(a bit off topic)
__________________
MSI P35 NEO2-FR Socket 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ stock settings
Patriot 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Extreme Performance @ stock settings
MSI GeForce NX8800GT-Zilent 512MB [link]
2x 250GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA2 8MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB
Maxtor 40 gig drive
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card
Lite-on CD/DVDburner
Generic CD/DVD drive
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 PRO
600W Xilence Gaming Edition PSU
HP LP2475w 24" monitor [link]
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Intellimouse Explorer 2.0A9
Comdot is offline  
Old 12-30-2007, 12:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: Monitor cables

why are you using VGA? thats like me using composite video cables for my 65" HDTV.......
__________________

Sig by Nosboost300
Prophet is offline  
Old 05-04-2008, 06:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Comdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 233
Default Re: Monitor cables

I finally have the answer to my question about whether or not I should use my optional DVI connection

DVI-D Cable (Digital Video) Technology - DVIHDMICables.com

Quote:
In order to determine your required bandwidth just multiply your desired resolution by your desired refresh rate (ie. 1600x1200 x 70 = 134 MHz).
So for me that will be 2048 x 1536 = 315 MHz which equates to a dual link DVI-D cable. It seems many people are having problems with their bandwidth! Just check out the reviews of DVI cables on Amazon... Amazon.co.uk: Belkin F2E4141b10-DD - DVI Flat Panel Replacement Cable: Electronics & Photo

*opens wallet for credit card* :snob:
__________________
MSI P35 NEO2-FR Socket 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ stock settings
Patriot 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Extreme Performance @ stock settings
MSI GeForce NX8800GT-Zilent 512MB [link]
2x 250GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA2 8MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB
Maxtor 40 gig drive
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card
Lite-on CD/DVDburner
Generic CD/DVD drive
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 PRO
600W Xilence Gaming Edition PSU
HP LP2475w 24" monitor [link]
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Intellimouse Explorer 2.0A9
Comdot is offline  
Old 05-04-2008, 11:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default Re: Monitor cables

well first of all 2048x1536 = 3,145,728 = 3 mhz
If u add the 70 hz like in the other calculation
2048 x 1536 x 70 = 220,200,960 = 220 mhz
__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 05-04-2008, 12:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Monitor cables

math sucks.....i hate math...............requires u to think

/sarcasm

i like using DVI, however i dont see a huge difference from VGA, except my screen being more clearer.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.