Monator Vs Tv - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2007, 07:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 157
Default Monator Vs Tv

Ok for now i am waiting to build my computer.

Basically I have had my computer for years and same with my TV. I would like to be able to use a nice TV or monitor to play games on my comp, and watch tv ect on. What would be the benefits of getting one or the other?

It just seems like it would be better just to buy 1 nice big screen than paying for a new cheap tv and a new cheap monitor.

If I bought a monitor and got a TV tuner would it be better than just buying a tv and connecting it with a dvi cable. Would i lose picture quality using earthier or?


Whats really the differences?
__________________

ZorrosRage is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 08:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Monator Vs Tv

well the problem is;
A you will need some serious graphic power for larger screens.
Also the tv will have to be very high quality, becuase on some, the ms response is to low, ect. They used 40inch's at quakecon, but had like dual 8800ultra's to power it. if you willing to have just a 22widescreen, get a samsung 226bw and get a tv tuner. (cable to tv tuner to monitor)
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 08:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 157
Default Re: Monator Vs Tv

I was hopeing for about a 32inch HD, but what would be the difference becides having to use different ways to connect them?
ZorrosRage is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 08:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Monator Vs Tv

ummm you don't need no dual ultra to power 1080p tv, you can still use 1 ultra and play just fine.. and a 32inch widescreen is probably 720p.. you don't need nothing special to power that resolution you could hang with a 8800gts if you wanted to. and most lcd tv's already have d-sub connections to put in anyway
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 08:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Monator Vs Tv

just atelast get a quality one. a crappy one will have bad resolution and stuff.
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 08:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Monator Vs Tv

Quote:
Originally Posted by taintedplay View Post
just atelast get a quality one. a crappy one will have bad resolution and stuff.
very true, a crappy tv will give you a **** of a time setting up the resolution, i tried working with my tv in the living, a 27 inch westinghouse.. and it won't even display 720p correctly without giving me a really hard time.. its retarded
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 08:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 157
Default Re: Monator Vs Tv

So basically its not going to make a difference if I hook up a tv or monator as long as i get a hi quality?

Like would

Newegg.com - Westinghouse Black 32" 16:9 8ms 1080i LCD HDTV Model LTV-32W3 HD
For example do me just as good as a same specs Monator?
ZorrosRage is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 08:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Monator Vs Tv

personally.. i wouldnt get anything 1080i... id go 1080p if anything
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 08:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Monator Vs Tv

full 1080 is a must!!! and a hdmi conversion cable from dvi to hdmi
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 08:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Monator Vs Tv

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
full 1080 is a must!!! and a hdmi conversion cable from dvi to hdmi
then buy an hd2900pro or xt!
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.