Are modular PSU necessary? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2007, 12:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Are modular PSU necessary?

Which one should I get?

Non Modular Thermaltake ToughPower 750 Watt ATX Internal Power Supply Unit - W0117RU - Computer Upgrades Power Supplies

Modular Thermaltake ToughPower Cable Management 750 Watt Power Supply Unit - W0116RU - Computer Upgrades Power Supplies

Note: Disregard the price as I wont be paying that much for it after discount.

Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 03:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Are modular PSU necessary?

the defining difference between a modular and a standard PSU is the fact that you can add/remove PSU cables as necessary. i.e. rather than having an extra chain of say four molex connectors you can remove that cable. it only really aids to make cable management an easier job.

edit: may also advise against a thermaltake PSU. the toughpower series isn't "bad" per-se, though their are probably better PSUs out there at a better price-point.

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you dont think the guitar is cool, then youre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 03:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556
Default Re: Are modular PSU necessary?

What hardware are you goint to run from it?

If you're going to use a single CPU and video card, I'd suggest a Hiper Type-R 580W

I have that power supply, powering an Athlon 64 X2 4600+, an 8800 GTS, 3 x 120mm fans, a water pump, 2 hard drives, and a DVD burner
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I bought the Thermaltake Toughpower 750Watts pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-05-2007 10:43 AM
Which PSU? Hmm... HELP :S small256 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 05-14-2007 09:04 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.