Modular PowerSupplies - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2006, 06:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 213
Default Modular PowerSupplies

Can any1 here tell me if these are good?... i like the way they look and less clutter... could some1 recomend some and give links?


Heres what i been lookin at...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817128001

AND this 1...
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=269825

thnx.
__________________

__________________
www.outotune.com
MSI P6N SLI-FI NForce 650i
E6300
2x1gigs 667mhz OCZ
36gb Raptor
80gig SATA Hitachi HD
500gb Seagate 32mb Cache HD
EVGA 8800GT SC 512mb
Ultra X2 X-connect 550w PSU
ProView 22" 1680x1050
BuddyRo is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 07:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 213
Default

hmm Bump...

anyone┬┐
__________________

__________________
www.outotune.com
MSI P6N SLI-FI NForce 650i
E6300
2x1gigs 667mhz OCZ
36gb Raptor
80gig SATA Hitachi HD
500gb Seagate 32mb Cache HD
EVGA 8800GT SC 512mb
Ultra X2 X-connect 550w PSU
ProView 22" 1680x1050
BuddyRo is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 08:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

the hiper is a good psu I have it works great
reckliss is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 08:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 213
Default

Thnx alot...
__________________
www.outotune.com
MSI P6N SLI-FI NForce 650i
E6300
2x1gigs 667mhz OCZ
36gb Raptor
80gig SATA Hitachi HD
500gb Seagate 32mb Cache HD
EVGA 8800GT SC 512mb
Ultra X2 X-connect 550w PSU
ProView 22" 1680x1050
BuddyRo is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 08:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Check out the Mushkin 550watt psu, its one sexy high quality psu.

Here it is on newegg: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817812002

Also you can check it out on my thread, it looks like its Black, but the sides are actually Chrome, just dark or tinted, the back of the unit is Black w/ clear coat or something. Pretty sweet psu for the price, plus its Mushkin quality.

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=120571
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 11:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

ive got an ultra powersupply and it seems to be getting the job done.
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 12:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Forget my suggestion on the Mushkin psu, I found this review on it, and it scared the **** out of me, so I'm getting another PSU, probably Seasonic.

Review here: http://www.jonnyguru.com/PSU/HP-550/
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 01:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 262
Default

I heard somewhere to stay away from modular cable PSUs.
__________________
viperman5000 is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 01:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Good Modulars Power supplies are as Follows.

Hiper Type R, Enermax Liberty, OCZ (Don't know model Name)
Ste is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 01:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I have used a OCZ Modsream (modular) in a build and it is a nice PSU but came with a european plug, so had to use my own kettle one. The main point to this post is, the sleaving makes the cables extremly stiff, and thus caused a headache putting it in a midi case, I was glad I had 2 extre pairs of hands to help guide it round and clip it into place.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.