Modern Warfare 2. Can my computer take it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2009, 06:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 129
Default Modern Warfare 2. Can my computer take it?

I've been thinking about this game ever since I heard it was coming out. But while watching some gameplay footage on xplay the graphics look amazing and the framerate on the video had to have been 60+

My question is if my computer will be able to play it like I want.. On medium or high settings. at least medium..

I'm on:

Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0ghz at stock speed.
4gb of OCZ Nvidia Performance DDR2 800mhz ram.(Windows only recognizes 3.24gb)
XFX Geforce 9600 GSO 768mb.
With a 450w PSU.

I would definitely think about upgrading my graphics card, but the problem is me not meeting the power supply wattage requirements, and having enough molex connectors for the molex to pci cables, I would need 2 so I would have to think of something.

My motherboard also only supports up to 4gb of ram. Intel DG31PR.

This was the very first computer I ever built, and I went extremely cheap *** with everything besides the processor basically. Even the graphics card only cost me around 70 dollars.


Will it be able to handle Modern Warfare 2? It plays crysis well on Medium/Low settings. On all high I get about 15 fps without anti aliasing. It depends which settings I have on high/medium/low.

I haven't played cod4 since I upgraded my ram. I used to have only 2gb of kingston 667mhz ram, when I played cod4 and it sort of lagged more than I expected. I also had physx on, and now I disabled it. So with the ram+speed increase, and also with physx disabled, perhaps it will run a bit better? I also hope/assume that modern warfare's system requirements will be roughly the same as cod4? Or higher maybe?

I also would like to know what the best graphics card I can get is with a 450 watt power supply?

Edited once again because I found that the HD 4850 has a minimum psu requirement of 450w which I meet, and I've seen some gameplay footage and I like what I see.

Newegg.com - XFX HD-485X-ZDFC Radeon HD 4850 1GB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

I think I might get that. Unless I see something better. I still want to get the best out of my 9600 gso.
__________________

TaskTool is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 07:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Modern Warfare 2. Can my computer take it?

Seeing as MW2 won't be much of an improvement graphically compared to CoD5/MW1, you will probably be able to play it fine.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 07:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: Modern Warfare 2. Can my computer take it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamikotai View Post
Seeing as MW2 won't be much of an improvement graphically compared to CoD5/MW1, you will probably be able to play it fine.
Have you seen any of the videos?... It will be much more graphically intensive. Might not look like crysis, but the amount of details and how much is going on makes up for it. Cod5 was worse looking that cod4 anyways, its like the ugly duckling of the series visually and gameplay wise. Except it doesn't grow up to be big and nice, stays ugly, and sucks more the more you play it.

You could probably play it on low/lowest, although I've never used/seen a 9600gt in action so I can't be sure.
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 07:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Modern Warfare 2. Can my computer take it?

I have the 384mb version of your gpu with a slower cpu and my system can run COD4 at close to 90 fps (1440x900, 2xAA). MW2 uses the same engine so even if it more demanding you should still be able to run decent setting with playable fps.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 07:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 129
Default Re: Modern Warfare 2. Can my computer take it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
I have the 384mb version of your gpu with a slower cpu and my system can run COD4 at close to 90 fps (1440x900, 2xAA). MW2 uses the same engine so even if it more demanding you should still be able to run decent setting with playable fps.
Do you play on all high settings? On all high I got something like 40 fps average, and even less sometimes. With nightvision it went up to about 150 fps.

I'm on a 17 inch monitor, so I dont really know what to set the resolution to.
TaskTool is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 07:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Modern Warfare 2. Can my computer take it?

my 8500GT could max COD4 out at 1680x1050 and get about 20-40FPS, so you will have no problem playing it.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 08:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Modern Warfare 2. Can my computer take it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TaskTool View Post
Do you play on all high settings? On all high I got something like 40 fps average, and even less sometimes. With nightvision it went up to about 150 fps.

I'm on a 17 inch monitor, so I dont really know what to set the resolution to.
I'm fairly sure it was on all high settings, it's been a while since I've played COD4.

I was running a 100mhz overclock on both the gpu core and memory so the fps wouldn't be quite as high with a stock card.

If it's a 17" non wide screen monitor 1280x1024 would most likely be the best resolution to use.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 08:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Modern Warfare 2. Can my computer take it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dirkpitt45 View Post
Have you seen any of the videos?... It will be much more graphically intensive. Might not look like crysis, but the amount of details and how much is going on makes up for it. Cod5 was worse looking that cod4 anyways, its like the ugly duckling of the series visually and gameplay wise. Except it doesn't grow up to be big and nice, stays ugly, and sucks more the more you play it.

You could probably play it on low/lowest, although I've never used/seen a 9600gt in action so I can't be sure.
cod 4 was better looking the waw on pc only on the consoles waw was much nicer then mwf1
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 08:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Modern Warfare 2. Can my computer take it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dirkpitt45 View Post
Have you seen any of the videos?... It will be much more graphically intensive. Might not look like crysis, but the amount of details and how much is going on makes up for it. Cod5 was worse looking that cod4 anyways, its like the ugly duckling of the series visually and gameplay wise. Except it doesn't grow up to be big and nice, stays ugly, and sucks more the more you play it.

You could probably play it on low/lowest, although I've never used/seen a 9600gt in action so I can't be sure.
I agree with Yamikotai. It looks slightly better.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 08-18-2009, 02:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Modern Warfare 2. Can my computer take it?

Like COD4 they will probably optimize it very well so that they appeal to a broader audience (more money for them basically), so you should be able to play it with decent settings, maybe not quite full, at a good frame rate.
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Was Modern Warfare a good idea at all? Tech Kid Tom Microsoft XBox 34 08-05-2009 01:24 AM
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Computer stops working, Almost Completely, when Browsing or Multitasking VistaGamer Microsoft Windows and Software 7 01-16-2009 09:51 PM
problem installing COD4: Modern Warfare memory PC Gaming 3 10-24-2008 08:25 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.