Mobo that supports AMD new cpu 6core need help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2010, 12:11 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mikesx4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 356
Default Re: Mobo that supports AMD new cpu 6core need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
maybe with this board
Gigabyte Technology GA-MA790X-UD4P 790X 4DDR2-1333 UD3 1394 2PCIEX16 4PCIE 2PCI 6RAID Gbe 12USB

specs
GA-MA790X-UD4P (rev. 1.0) - GIGABYTE - Support&Download - Motherboard - CPU Support List

it supports ddr2 and xfire, and it says it will support the 1055t and 1035t, but the 1090t isn't listed. so idk if maybe you want to keep an eye on this mobo, maybe with another bios update it will support it.
I will keep an eye on this one, I just sent gigabyte a message and asked them if it will get a update to support it, so we shall see. In the mean time my search continues lol
__________________

mikesx4911 is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 12:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mikesx4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 356
Default Re: Mobo that supports AMD new cpu 6core need help

I finally found one, what do you guys think of this one?? This might be a stupid question but I noticed that the chipset on this one though is a nvidia, that wont interfere with me using my ATI card will it?

Newegg.com - ASUS M4N72-E AM3/AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA nForce 750a SLI ATX AMD Motherboard
__________________

mikesx4911 is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 02:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Mobo that supports AMD new cpu 6core need help

you can use a single ati card fine, just that you won't be able to xfire another card because it has an nvidia chipset.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 03:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mikesx4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 356
Default Re: Mobo that supports AMD new cpu 6core need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
you can use a single ati card fine, just that you won't be able to xfire another card because it has an nvidia chipset.
eh, than it defeats the purpose of getting a xfire mobo cuz i only use ATI lol. Such complications
mikesx4911 is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 03:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Mobo that supports AMD new cpu 6core need help

maybe you could wait a little while and see if more mobos will support it with a bios update. they did only recently just become available. just a thought.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 12:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mikesx4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 356
Default Re: Mobo that supports AMD new cpu 6core need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
maybe you could wait a little while and see if more mobos will support it with a bios update. they did only recently just become available. just a thought.
yea it looks like thats what im going to end up doing i hope they hurry up with the bios updates
mikesx4911 is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 12:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Mobo that supports AMD new cpu 6core need help

ASUS M4 Series Motherboards Ready for AMD Phenom II X6 processors

There's the list of ASUS boards that support 6-cores. Of course there will be more, but that involves ASUS create new BIOS and testing them.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 04:42 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mikesx4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 356
Default Re: Mobo that supports AMD new cpu 6core need help

yup waiting somewhat patiently for bios updates lol
mikesx4911 is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 05:26 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Mobo that supports AMD new cpu 6core need help

Are you talking about your board? If the motherboard doesn't have dual power planes, you'll be waiting for ever on those BIOS updates.

I have no idea what dual power planes are used for? From what I understand it's used for sending different voltages to different parts of the CPU. And used for Cool'n'Quiet? Anyone care to elaborate on what the dual power planes are, and how you can determine whether or not your board has a single or dual?
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 08:24 AM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Mobo that supports AMD new cpu 6core need help

Socket AM2+ - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
It seems all am2+ carry dual power planes, one for the CPU and another for the memory controller inside. However AM2 only had one. Going by what wikipedia says all am2+ motherboard should have dual power lanes for native am2+/am3 cpu support. Unless some better regulated boards have dual power lanes for only the CPU core, But i think this would be an incompatibility issue at the hardware level?
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New mobo and CPU macraigma System Upgrades 10 04-02-2010 12:17 PM
ASUS Technology Unlocks AMD CPU Cores Osiris New Technology and Products 2 03-09-2010 11:07 AM
AMD to make "significant corporate announcement" tomorrow, possibly breaking up Wildside Polls 8 10-11-2008 07:59 PM
AMD mobo + cpu QuaziBee New Systems | Building and Buying 10 09-27-2007 05:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.