mobo recs... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2008, 07:20 PM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 245
Default Re: mobo recs...

so doeas anyone know if a 790fx chipset will run one 9800gx2 to full capabilities? technically it says only crossfire with more than one card but this is only one card with sli technically. Any opinions?
__________________

__________________
MB-EVGA 780i FTW
CPU-Q6600@3.6
Cooling- Custom Water cooling from petras
Ram- 1gbx4 Crucial Tracers ddr2 800
GPU- XFX GTX280 SLI
PSU- Rosewill 950 watt
Monitor- Dell 24"
Case- Thermaltake armor series


I fold for my sister and the cure. What do you fold for?
http://folding.stanford.edu/English/Download
Dainius is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 11:31 PM   #22 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: mobo recs...

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Is that Foxconn board actually giving you SLI Support yet?
you mean phenom support?
heck no, it never will, it looks like. from what i read, it wont.
but i did find this on newegg:
Newegg.com - ECS GF8200A (V1.0) AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 8200 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
no sli and a not-so great chipset...but nvidia, and CHEAP...will do in the meantime until the release of the 780a (which is "supposed" to be by the end of this month)**yawn**

it will work in a pinch, and it's only 80 bucks. i bet it overclocks like crap, lol.
but i can use hybrid SLI with it, and would be curious to see the results of that.
afterwards, i always have my trusty x2 3600 i could put in it....giving me a total of 4 AMD boxes if i got a phenom.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 10:29 AM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: mobo recs...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
you mean phenom support?
heck no, it never will, it looks like. from what i read, it wont.
but i did find this on newegg:
Newegg.com - ECS GF8200A (V1.0) AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 8200 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
no sli and a not-so great chipset...but nvidia, and CHEAP...will do in the meantime until the release of the 780a (which is "supposed" to be by the end of this month)**yawn**

it will work in a pinch, and it's only 80 bucks. i bet it overclocks like crap, lol.
but i can use hybrid SLI with it, and would be curious to see the results of that.
afterwards, i always have my trusty x2 3600 i could put in it....giving me a total of 4 AMD boxes if i got a phenom.
Ya I meant Phenom, I've seen that board before, and the review said that the Overclocking abilities of that ECS is kind of bad on it (google )

also Don't you mean Hybrid Crossfire?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 11:38 AM   #24 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: mobo recs...

no, i mean hybrid SLI. it has an nvidia chipset with onboard graphics. although, i am uncertain that my 8800gts will work with it. i think it should, but not certain.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 11:44 AM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: mobo recs...

oo... post a review if you get it.

Wasn't everyone making a big deal about nvidia wanting to do onboard graphic sli?
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 12:05 PM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: mobo recs...

It was originally AMD's Idea though

I might be buying one of those 780g or 8200 boards
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need a new 939 socket mobo ASAP Denise_M System Upgrades 9 03-13-2008 09:37 PM
ASUS m2n sli deluxe mobo problem. possibly cpu galvo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 12-24-2007 02:04 PM
quick power/reset/ mobo conection question jfenwick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-19-2007 07:52 PM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.