mobo psu question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2006, 05:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 70
Default mobo psu question

i am about to build a new pc and i have a case and a 480w antec psu that only has 20pin mobo connector.

can i plug a 20 pin into a 24 pin or do i need to buy a adapter or should i just get a new psu altogether
__________________

__________________
\"we like to break all of the rules....exept most of them\"
TREMBER is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 05:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

what psu is it, whats the rest of your specs?
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 06:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 70
Default

i know its a antec psu its a true blue i think.my bro gave me his old comp put he took out the hard drive and it was starting to have problems any way

2.6 p4 478
msi mobo

i will be putting probably a low end opty or a lower end amd 64. but i wont have but probably one hd maby 2 in the future
__________________
\"we like to break all of the rules....exept most of them\"
TREMBER is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 06:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

naaa id just get an adaptor, thats a fine psu for what you got, no need for a new one
harry18 is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 06:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 70
Default

thnx lots of help
__________________
\"we like to break all of the rules....exept most of them\"
TREMBER is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 06:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Just try plugging the 20 into the 24.
I did it on my computer and i had it that way for 1 year. I had no problems, and everything worked fine.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 09:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

I wouldn't reccomend it for stability reasons.

You can probably find a nice 500w FS Nortron PSU for $50 that's got 24 pins.

Screwing with the PSU is never a good idea, because if it messes up, it'll often take other components with it.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 09:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Brtnboarder495
I wouldn't reccomend it for stability reasons.

You can probably find a nice 500w FS Nortron PSU for $50 that's got 24 pins.

Screwing with the PSU is never a good idea, because if it messes up, it'll often take other components with it.
well your not really screwing with the psu, or making any modifications.... You just plug it into the upper 20...

It even says to do so in most LGA775 mobo manuals, when it says what to do if you lack a 24pin PSU.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.