mobo problems! please help me find a new one! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2006, 01:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 18
Exclamation mobo problems! please help me find a new one! computer has some strange problems....It randomly shuts down, sometimes 2 secs after i turn it on sometimes 20 mins....and sometimes it stays on for hours. Thats about the only problem...and it has gotten alot worse here recently! My specs are...
antec truepower II 550w PSU
eVGA SLI mobo (this is my problem i think)
eVGA 7800gt 256mb gpu
1 gig patriot memory
seagate SATA hdd..
amd 3700+ san diego core..

The motherboard i have came for free with my gpu... Thats my motherboard....But, i was wondering if that is the problem, what is a good upgrade that isnt 2 expensive....I was also wondering if the mobo causing the system to crash could be harming my other parts. We are lookin for a good mobo to go with what we got, SLI isnt 2 important...Please help!

RastaManRingo is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 01:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 149

try re-seating your memory and make sure you have it in the correct channel/channels. Also turn off auto restart
...youll be able to get some error messages if its blue screening.

run memtest to see if your memory is bad.

Opteron 165 oc 2.7
eVGA 7800 GT
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
1GB OCZ Enhanced Latency (2 x 512MB)
Antec TP-II (550w)
Scythe Ninja
macombaland is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 02:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 18

i turned off auto restart but i dont know if it helped any or not lol....Since it started doing this recently do you think it could be a bad mobo/psu/cmos?? I thought it was CMOS at first bc my clock was wrong a few times.. But, people said it seemed like it was the PSU...but, i have the same PSU as u macom, antec TP-II (550w) and i have never heard of a bad antec PSU....I could replace the PSU and see if thats it, but, i dont have another PCI-E / AMD mobo to put in and see if it works..../sigh....this sucks...
RastaManRingo is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 08:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 18

/sigh bump?!?!
RastaManRingo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.