This mobo plus this ram? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2007, 10:16 AM   #31 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

yeah definitely. but man when the 3000mhz ht stuff comes out paired with ddr3 that will run at those extremely high speeds we are gonna see some kick-@$$ memory intensive application performance. oh. my.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 10:21 AM   #32 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

So to get this straight. In AMDs, theres two multipliers. One is for the CPU and one is for the HT link (is it also called HTT?). So the FSB or external clock?...is 250MHz, and you multiply that, by the CPU multiplier and the HT link multiplier, to get 2.75GHz and 1000MHz(2000MHz), respectively. Also in AMDs, the FSB is the channel that the CPU communicates with every component, and the HT link, is the channel that the CPU communicates with the memory? And is that where the memory controller comes in?

So in the X2 5600+'s situation, the FSB or external clock is 200MHz. Multiply by multiplier of 14, gets you 2.8GHz. And then multiply FSB by 5, this time I guess, to get 1000MHz(2000MHz) for the HT link.

whoa...I'm surprised, my brain hasn't froze on me yet. I'm sorry for the long post.

I'm also sorry, if we hijacked your thread, panzer...
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 10:26 AM   #33 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

that is a fine run down and correct sir.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 10:32 AM   #34 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

Its cool, the thread was dead anyways lol.

Im still gonna get the crucial, as I wont overclocking THAT much..
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 10:52 AM   #35 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

oh, btw, b1gapl how is that monitor you have in your sig... I have a viewsonic vx922 right now, 2ms, 19'' screen. I was thinking about going widescreen and bigger.
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 10:56 AM   #36 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

I'm very satisfied with it. The reason, I bought was because of the price. Alot of people complained about the DVI slot though, dying on them after three months. I just never used it, VGA is fine for me.

If you really want a good one, get the Samsung 226BW 22" 2ms:
Newegg.com - SAMSUNG 226BW Black 22" 2 ms (GTG) DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 1000:1(DC 3000:1) - Retail

Another good one:
Newegg.com - Hanns·G HW-223DPB Black 22" 5ms HD 1080P supported DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 1000:1 Built in Speakers - Retail
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 11:44 AM   #37 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

Im liking that Samsung, Ill bookmark that.. I figure in a few months when amd phenom comes out, Ill put a new order in for probably that monitor, a second 8800GTx, and a quad core. That should work out. Thank you.
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 11:49 AM   #38 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
b1gapl youre kinda right but kinda wrong lol.
amd's dont need to be 1:1
the divider system of amd is completely screwy dude...very confusing until you study it for awhile
for example:
if a rig is running 250mhz external clock, ram set at ddr2 800, cpu multi at 11, ht multi at 4
250 x 11 = 2750mhz/7(the divider for ddr2 800 setting)=ram is running at 392mhz. the ht link (ldt) will be 250 x 4 = 1000 (doubled to 2000) mhz. so, plenty of headroom to run the ram as fast as possible with no bottleneck. he could run it at ddr2 2000 theoretically. lol woot woot thats fast.
the hypertransport is amd's ram "pathway" if you will.
the ht will be 2000mhz on that cpu, so in theory he has a s***load of headroom. you can drop the ht multi to 3 (from 5) and still get full usage of the ram.
lol 533 clockspeed aint unlikely on that cpu...more like impossible.

lol u lost me .....
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 12:13 PM   #39 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

I dont think any of us truely understood that the first time... It took me a few reads through to get the geist of things.
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 12:29 PM   #40 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

thats gave mea good insight to how amd's work
__________________

kobe24 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
best sli mobo psp_crazy1 New Systems | Building and Buying 46 05-22-2007 07:44 PM
What Power and Mobo? weee107 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-21-2007 11:22 AM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
mobo CPU fan changing tone smurph Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-20-2007 07:06 AM
MoBo question xcoreRelentless New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-07-2007 10:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.