This mobo plus this ram? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2007, 08:24 AM   #21 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

yea, Corsair is new to the PSU market, but their PSUs are rock solid. PC&C are awesome too, if you can afford them. It looks like you can, but it's unnecessary, when Corsair is cheaper, and just as reliable. Everybody would agree.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 08:38 AM   #22 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

How about... Newegg.com - PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610 EPS12V EPS12V 610W Continuous @ 40°C Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, cUL, CE, CB, TUV - Retail

Consider it will run 40* C unlike the corsair model that ran at 50* C. Not only that, 50 dollar instant savings.. $$$...


Now, will that be enough to run SLI'd 8800GTX's?
__________________

PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 08:41 AM   #23 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

That would be fine, and yes...it can handle SLI'd 8800GTX. wow...it went down in price.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 08:45 AM   #24 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

Ok, coolness. I still have 98 dollars.. I was thinking about adding an extra gig of that crucial memory on for 89.00?
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 08:48 AM   #25 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

I would use it on something else, or just save it. Again, 2gb of ram is optimal for everything right now, even for Vista.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 08:50 AM   #26 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

Even for Battlefield 2 on vista?

Waa! I wanna buy stuff..
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 08:55 AM   #27 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

lol...calm down. Save money, for your upgrade to Phenom.

Yes...plenty enough for BF2 on Vista, at the highest settings. Everyone would agree.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 09:00 AM   #28 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

-_-

Fine, so total is 1,901 thats with an artic freezer 64 pro and some as5 thrown in for good measure...
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 10:09 AM   #29 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

b1gapl youre kinda right but kinda wrong lol.
amd's dont need to be 1:1
the divider system of amd is completely screwy dude...very confusing until you study it for awhile
for example:
if a rig is running 250mhz external clock, ram set at ddr2 800, cpu multi at 11, ht multi at 4
250 x 11 = 2750mhz/7(the divider for ddr2 800 setting)=ram is running at 392mhz. the ht link (ldt) will be 250 x 4 = 1000 (doubled to 2000) mhz. so, plenty of headroom to run the ram as fast as possible with no bottleneck. he could run it at ddr2 2000 theoretically. lol woot woot thats fast.
the hypertransport is amd's ram "pathway" if you will.
the ht will be 2000mhz on that cpu, so in theory he has a s***load of headroom. you can drop the ht multi to 3 (from 5) and still get full usage of the ram.
lol 533 clockspeed aint unlikely on that cpu...more like impossible.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 10:12 AM   #30 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

lol...thanks for clearing that up, even though it's a little more confusing than Intel's way.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
best sli mobo psp_crazy1 New Systems | Building and Buying 46 05-22-2007 07:44 PM
What Power and Mobo? weee107 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-21-2007 11:22 AM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
mobo CPU fan changing tone smurph Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-20-2007 07:06 AM
MoBo question xcoreRelentless New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-07-2007 10:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.