This mobo plus this ram? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2007, 08:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

i second that gotta back b1gapl
__________________

kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 08:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

Im going SLI in a few months... 700 would provide plenty of head room, besides the fact that I have a ton of USB devices.


Im still hesitant to switch ram, as I really like OCz, not so comfortable with the Gskill...

I really need that extra few seconds in photoshop, its seriously is killing my hard drive.
__________________

PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 09:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

Thats where RAIDing the the Seagate 7200.10 320gb HD will come in. It's as fast as a single raptor, and less money, and also gives you a ton more space.

The Corsair 520W is SLI certified. If you're not satisfied with that, the Corsair 620W, is plenty enough too.

Stay with OCZ if you want. We were just trying to get the best for your money. Just that almost anybody in here, will suggest the G. Skill over the OCZ.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 09:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

I see.

I'll probably go with all the ocz stuff, kinda stubborn that way. Really money isnt much of an object, Im just starting to feel the hurt with my current processor, and I wanted everything else to own also.
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 09:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

Dude gskill FTW. And i'll recommend the Sennheisser HD280 pro's from newegg.The sound on these headphones are extremely accurate.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 10:03 PM   #16 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

Why get DDR2-1066 ram but yet an 8800GTS? Go for the GTX...

OCZ PSU's ripple very bad. I for one do not suggest them and if you look most people do not recommend them for very expensive builds. Corsair, Seasonic, Silverstone, FSP, PCP&C, Etasis, Xclio, etc are all better and what I would rather run on a 2k Build. The PSU won't blow up on you or anything it's just that there are many better units that do not suffer from ripple on the 12's than an OCZ.

As stated OCZ makes good ram but why get DDR2-1066??? You can easily get a cheaper DDR2-800 kit of OCZ and hit those speeds and upgrade yourself to the GTX. You can go with OCZ if you really love them but your waisting 70 bucks is all and G.skill is more reputable, faster, cheaper, and offers better service.

Please also tell me why you are going AMD with a budget that high. Intel currently make the best chips and the E6600 is better than that. I realize that you have a bit of fanboy thing going on but your build could be more powerful while being 200 bucks cheaper even if you wanted by going with things that we know work, have been recommending, and are the best bang for your buck.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 12:17 AM   #17 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

Im pretty much building a pre "phenom" build, one that I can bios update, through a phenom in there and have quite the beast.

Intel hasnt ever appealed to me, and Yea I got the fanboy thing going on, but my Athlon 64 3700+ has done me well for these two years, I just want long term stability..

I can tell you right now, my OCZ 520w Modstream psu hasnt ever skipped a beat for these two years ive had it.. Ocz is again a brand that I rely on for stability.

Ok, I guess I give, pick the perfect PSU and ram(besides the gskill).. lol


Sora, you have allergies right now? Seeing as your from uniontown, aint that far from me.. mine are killing me, this **** heat/humidity doesnt make it any betta.
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 12:23 AM   #18 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

How about this ram? Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 05:43 AM   #19 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

That's a pretty good choice. Crucial is known to get high overclocks too. For perfect PSU, Corsair is the one to go. Either the 520w or 620w version.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 08:08 AM   #20 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: This mobo plus this ram?

I havent even heard of Corsair psu's, I know their ram is good, but are they fairly new to the psu market?

I was going to go with a more reliable brand like PCP&C?
__________________

PanzerKammander is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
best sli mobo psp_crazy1 New Systems | Building and Buying 46 05-22-2007 07:44 PM
What Power and Mobo? weee107 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-21-2007 11:22 AM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
mobo CPU fan changing tone smurph Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-20-2007 07:06 AM
MoBo question xcoreRelentless New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-07-2007 10:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.