Mobo Issue, Help please. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2006, 11:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to doublebassdanny
Default Mobo Issue, Help please.

So I had an A7N8X-E Deluxe motherboard and it had an odd problem: When I would shut down my machine I'd have to reset the BIOS to power it back on, otherwise it'd just sit and run the fans and with HDD light on. So after trying everything (new BIOS battery, flash BIOS etc.) I bought a brand new mobo of the same type. Unfortunately, same problem. So I bought a new power supply, 400 Watts (ULTRA V Series) from microcenter. Same problem. I'm at a loss now, and I need to be able to change the settings in my BIOS because my CPU is clocked down to 1.24Ghz otherwise, when it should be around 2.04 (Athlon 2800+). I would greatly appreciate help on this.

Thanks
-Danny
__________________

doublebassdanny is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 11:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

something seems to be causing it to stall the abbreviated self test on a warm boot. probably relates to your memory or cpu if the problem has remained. i'm only guessing as those are the causes i've seen of failed warm boots (mostly instability from overclocking)
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 12:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to doublebassdanny
Default

Hm, I'll try new RAM and CPU when I get home, if it's one of those, I'd have to guess CPU since it always clocks down to 1.24 ghz.

Thanks a ton, this was driving me crazy. Will post what happens for others who may run into this crap.
doublebassdanny is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 12:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

there are bizarre issues with the K7's and downclocking because of the relationship between memory frequency and FSB. if the memory downclocks it will pull the FSB and consequently cpu speed down too.

edit: also kudos on the board , it's about the best socket A board there is. i had the good fortune of picking up one of these with a 2500+ Barton for $10au the other day.
Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.