Mobo To HD Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2006, 11:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Question Mobo To HD Question

Im Buying The DFI Lanparty Mobo And I Noticed Its ATA100. I Also Wish To Purchase A WD Raptor Which Is ATA150. Will I Benefit From The Xtras The Raptor Gives Such As High RPMs And High Cache? Or Should I Save The $ And Purchase A 7200RPM ATA100 HD? Also Can I Run RAID I With An ATA150 Raptor And A ATA100 7200 If I Decided To?

Thanks For Your Help Guys.
__________________

Cracktout is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 01:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

the benifits are minimal .. .they wil lahve faste loading time but for the moola i would get the 7200 unless you need utimalte top notch speed
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 06:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

You could also get a WD1600JS (160GB 16MB cache Around $80) - one of the fastest 7200RPM.
turtile is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 10:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Default

I Was Thinking About Getting 2x ...



Hard Drive

Good ?

Are These HD's And Mobo Combo Capable Of Raid 0 (striping)

Mobo will Be

DFI LanBoy
Cracktout is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 10:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Do NOT go with ATA100. With SATA150 or SATAII you don't need to have those **** ribbon cables. Any 2 identical hard drives can be set up in RAID.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 11:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Yes, you can.
turtile is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 12:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

Maxtor DiamondMax10 250GB. Amazing.
septoid2 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 03:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Default

What Mobo Do You Guys Recommend For Gaming Then?
Cracktout is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 06:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

The one you have is fine.
turtile is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Default

would it be better to get a SLI mobo? and what is the diff between DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard and the DFI LP UT nF4 SLI-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard.
__________________

Cracktout is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.