Mobo for E8400 or? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2008, 03:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default Mobo for E8400 or?

My curent mobo (EVGA 680i) really isn't cutting the mustard with the E8400 as the temps are high and I hae been going back and forth on whether or not to water cool it. It seems to me that I should be looking at the 780i or 790i series boards? I'm beginning to think that I should just off the E8400 and pickup a Q6600 as the prices are starting to tank. Thumbs up on the new mobo? Thumbs up on the sale of the E8400 and purchase of the Q6600 and keeping my current stuff? Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 03:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Mobo for E8400 or?

What temps are going high? If it is just the E8400's temps, get a high end heatsink/fan like the Thermaltake Ultra 120 or the more affordable Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro. The E8400 (if not overclocked) should be fine with the stock heat sink fan, but if it is still getting hot, this would be a much cheaper solution rather than the quad core upgrade.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 03:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Mobo for E8400 or?

If it was me I would get the q6600...
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 04:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Mobo for E8400 or?

That really all depends on what his needs are. For maximum gaming compatibility, dual core for now would be best and should still last him a good year or two. If it's future proofing or multi-core applications that he will be running, then obviously the q6600 would be a good investment and could probably last him for 3-4 years without upgrading.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 04:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Mobo for E8400 or?

ThermalRIGHT ultra 120. ThermalTAKE = poop.

Also, check out the evga 750i FTW.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 04:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Mobo for E8400 or?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
ThermalRIGHT ultra 120. ThermalTAKE = poop.

Also, check out the evga 750i FTW.
That's what I meant. Ugh... so many Thermals!
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 04:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Mobo for E8400 or?

i'd say get the quad regardless. 8400 clocked at 4ghz and the q6600 clocked at 3.6ghz won't make that much of a difference.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 05:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Mobo for E8400 or?

Thermalpoop lol Thermaltake does blow

btw which 680i are you on?

get the 750i FTW though, its good, and it's just the so-called "crippled" 780i because there's no Tri-SLI, but since you have dual 8800gts' I don't think you need the Tri-SLI, and Tri-SLI does suck
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 02:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 62
Default Re: Mobo for E8400 or?

I put in an ASRock 1600P35-Wifi+ along with an E8400 without any heat issues. It boots up very fast to me, but then it's in a CMStacker tower case with plenty of fans.
The board has all solid capacitors and was only about $129 from Newegg. I did spring for some Kingston Hyper-X memory, so maybe it all helps to allow the CPU to run fast and smooth.

Yes, the fans are always running noticiably, but they work very well.


It Works Great!
arcticap is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 07:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Mobo for E8400 or?

He needs SLI though
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need a new 939 socket mobo ASAP Denise_M System Upgrades 9 03-13-2008 09:37 PM
quick power/reset/ mobo conection question jfenwick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-19-2007 07:52 PM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
Plugging wires in the mobo power panel incorrectly piggysmile Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-25-2007 09:17 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.