mobo/cpu/memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2006, 12:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default mobo/cpu/memory

my computer has just packed up on me. Looks like the motherboard is dead.

I dont think its worth getting another 939 none sli board so i may aswel buy the motherboard cpu and memory to match.

Ive been out of the game for about a year so i dont know what the best bang for my buck. All im bothered about is it having sli so i can drop another 7800gtx in if i need to (i only use 2 pci slot so thats not a problem) I have a OCZ ModStream 520w ATX2.2 psu to use along with case hdds etc.

Im not bothered if its intel or amd. I do moderate gaming but im sure my 7800gtx will put me in good stead for that. It has to be dual core, and good enough to last me until vista is established and had all its bugs ironed out.

I guess my money limit is £350(GBP) i cant order from newegg so will have to be places like

www.overclockers.co.uk
www.scan.co.uk
www.ebuyer.co.uk
or any other english sites.

thanks
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 12:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well if your going sli then stay clear from core2duo, they're sli boards seem to cost alot... but i havent checked on that recently.. so i may be wrong

but if your getting anything i'll just list a general idea

Socket AM2
4200 x2 (unless you overclock, then 3800x2)
G.Skill or OCZ DDR2 566
As for mobo... all dependent of you oc.. if not, you can pick up a board that cheap.. of course still a well known brand

LGA775
e6300
Again, G.SKill or OCZ DDR2 800
Mobo.. i've only seen one sli mobo, and its from asus
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 01:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

You could either get a slow overpriced processor (AMD) or you could get an overpriced SLI motherboard for a $189 Core 2 Duo which is faster than a 4200+

So Intel $535 -

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115005
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231098
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131032

or AMD $585 -

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103747
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231098
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130048

Which will perform better? Intel. I think we can all agree on that...

Oh, okay fine English sites, gimme another few minutes.

Overclockers.co.uk AMD -

Asus M2N32-SLi-DLX nForce 590 SLi (Socket AM2) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard (MB-142-AS) - £114.99
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ 2.20GHz (Socket AM2) - Retail (CP-168-AM) - £114.99
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 PK PC2-6400 (2x1GB) CAS4 Dual Channel Kit (F2-6400CL4D-2GBPK) (MY-017-GS) - £149.99

Total - £379.97

Overclockers.co.uk Intel -

Asus P5N32-SLi SE Deluxe nForce4 SLi X16 (Socket 775) PCI-Express Motherboard (MB-174-AS) - £119.99
Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 "LGA775 Allendale" 1.86GHz (1066FSB) - OEM (CP-135-IN) - £107.99
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 PK PC2-6400 (2x1GB) CAS4 Dual Channel Kit (F2-6400CL4D-2GBPK) (MY-017-GS) - £149.99

Total - £377.97
The General is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 01:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

I do overclock. I got my 3200 up form 2ghz to 2.6ghz. So im after something that is very overclockable. Looking on overclockers.co.uk the difference in price is only £6 between the 3800 and 4200, i guess the 4200 has and 11x multiplier whereas the 3800 only has 10x so i guess i would rather tha 4200.

whats the difference between the 570 and 590 chipsets? because im looking at the MSI K9N Platinum nForce 570 SLi board and its £40 cheaper than the same board with the 590 chipset.

How about the "OCZ 2GB PC5400 Dual Channel Gold GX XTC Series" thats rated at 667mhz?
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 02:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

i had no idea the 570 and 590 chipsets were out.. how about that.. lol

and if the ram is compatible with the motherboard, then go for it.. but like general said, i'd stick to core 2 duo... insane overclockers, and they're alot faster at stock speeds as well..

check out the e6300
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 02:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

If you want overclocking, you definitely want Core 2 Duo then ... zomg they overclock like mad. First time overclocking, I got my E6600 from 2.4Ghz to 3.5Ghz on stock cooling, ran a tad hot so I replaced it with a Zalman and it works great.

And I would stick with DDR2-800, as people have lots of problems with DDR2-667 and overclocking, it's kinda like getting DDR-333 with a s939 system.
The General is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 02:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

ok im looking on my local shops site because i want to go and buy this tomorrow and they arent that much more expensive than those online places.

looking at the e6300 with 2gig of OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Platinum GX XTC
trouble is the motherboard i dont think theyve got a sli intel board
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 02:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

im look at one of these boards, http://www.goldchip.uk.com/default2.aspx?catId=86
i dont know if sli is really worth it. Do you think my 7800gtx will serve me well enough till say next winter?

Also will my xp120 cooler fit a the new intel chips?
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 04:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Well I can tell you right now that you will be overclocking like a mad man if you get a Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3:
http://www.goldchip.uk.com/default2....&subCatId=3123

^ I wish I could ship internationally, because mine's for sale and I could save you a good chunk of cash, but shipping internationally will make the whole deal not worth it, may as well go buy one at the store.

That is the board I used when I got my E6600 to 3.5Ghz, and it's also the board Idiotec (another member here) used to get his E6400 up to 3.7Ghz! It is an awesome board, I just had to replace it because it didn't work right with Linux.

I think you'll be okay with your 7800GTX, I'm okay with my 7900GT for probably another year and a half. :classic:

As for the cooler, haven't used or seen or heard of it, maybe someone else can answer that question.
The General is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 08:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

ok thanks thats very good to hear.

looks like this will be my setup then

OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Platinum GX XTC Dual Channel OCZ2P8002GK
http://www.goldchip.uk.com/default2....&subCatId=2870

Intel Core 2 DUO E6400 "LGA775 Allendale" 2.13GHz
http://www.goldchip.uk.com/default2....&subCatId=3229

Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 Socket 775 Conroe CORE 2 DUO READY! / 2x PCI-E
http://www.goldchip.uk.com/default2....&subCatId=3123

gonna cost a bomb but hopefully will be worth it
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.