Mobo for ATi Video Cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2006, 09:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default Mobo for ATi Video Cards

Ok what mobo should I get. I will use ATI Radeon X1900XT.
thks

Like this ones?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130038

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813154007
Will it work without CrosseFire Video Card? I doing to get only one Card.
__________________

Kdar is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 10:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

If you're only getting one card, get an Nvidia nForce4 Ultra chipset.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 10:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default

Oh ok. So If my card ATI or Nvidia.... Nvidia nForce4 Ultra will not have problems with ATI?
Kdar is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 11:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

nforce4 will work fine with a single ati card. but if i were you and maybe wanted to add a second card in the future i would go ahead and get the x200 crossfire board.. becasue dual x1900xtx whoa!
burned-ati is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 11:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

eh, I'd just go for a single port board. This goes back to the whole debate about whether or not SLI or Crossfire is worth it. I'm going on the side of "It's not even close to worth it" and I recommend the motherboard I have in my sig.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 11:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

well i also dont think its worth it, but its just the fact that its 40 bucks more and if his video card slows down in the future he could add another.. when they of course are cheaper.
burned-ati is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 11:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default

Well, I guess I better off use one card and them just sell, buy etc.
Kdar is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 11:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by turtile
If you're only getting one card, get an Nvidia nForce4 Ultra chipset.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131530
this one right?
or
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131530
__________________

Kdar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.