Which mobo? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2006, 09:37 PM   #21 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default

I have Corsair Valueselecet w/ a DFI board and it works perfectly. I also have the board that everybody said was really buggy.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 09:40 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

All i have to say is if you aim for the top youll get the top! Spartan im with you on this one buddy! Ive always been paranoid about anything that has the words "Valueselect" on the box! Tell me Flanker, would you like some valueselect steak to go with your greatvalue cocacola???
__________________

__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 09:53 PM   #23 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default

I have no problem eating or drinking wal mart brand stuff. ITs the same thing w/ a different name on it. I use valueselect and its more stable than anything else ive used. I suggest the DFI SLI-DR and either G.Skill or OCZ ram to go w/ it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 11:17 PM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sw_freak64
All i have to say is if you aim for the top youll get the top! Spartan im with you on this one buddy! Ive always been paranoid about anything that has the words "Valueselect" on the box! Tell me Flanker, would you like some valueselect steak to go with your greatvalue cocacola???
You're a friggin noob is what you are. Don't talk about crap thats outta your league.
Flanker is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 11:46 PM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=25447

It's a well known fact that all corsair memory regardless of valueselect or xms is picky with DFI boards...one of the big reasons for this is the fact that a lot of bios files written for DFI are done by bigtoe who works for ocz and hence why ocz in exchange works so well with dfi vs. other manufacturers...this is not to say that corsair memory won't work with lanparty boards as it will but you'll have a lot more issues and latency tweaks to make work as well as some other stuff

Quote:
I also have the board that everybody said was really buggy.
It is a buggy board and was never on the same level as the nf4 boards...of course when it first came out there were software issues that needed to be worked out but there were issues with the board that were ridiculous such as a resistor that wasn't even supposed to be there...and then of course there's the general issue with nf3 chipsets
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 11:59 PM   #26 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default

Funny though as i have never really had a problem w/ it. My friend who has the nF3 250gb has many problems......go figure lol.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 03:38 AM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

Quote:
quote: Originally posted by sw_freak64 All i have to say is if you aim for the top youll get the top! Spartan im with you on this one buddy! Ive always been paranoid about anything that has the words "Valueselect" on the box! Tell me Flanker, would you like some valueselect steak to go with your greatvalue cocacola??? You're a friggin noob is what you are. Don't talk about crap thats outta your league.
WTF? noob???? wherd u get that? out of my league? please spare me
__________________

__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.