mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2007, 09:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 45
Default mobo

so far i've picked out everything for my new computer except for the motherboard. What is a good motherboard for overclocking and is at the most $230

Here's my current list of parts

NZXT Lexa Midtower Case
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 400GB
Hanns·G HW-223DPB 22" LCD Monitor
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 2900XT 1GB
KINGWIN 800W Power Supply
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Scythe Infinity (4 fans)
A-DATA Extreme Edition 4GB (4 x 1GB) DDR2 800
__________________

N1gh7 is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 09:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: mobo

The P35-DS3R is probably the best overclocking mobo at the moment, and its also the newest chipset. I am very pleased with mine, and it comes highly recommened by others in this forum.

It should be cheaper than $230, the only thing is it doesnt have SLI or Crossfire. If you want those you will have to look at something like a 650i.
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 09:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by N1gh7 View Post
so far i've picked out everything for my new computer except for the motherboard. What is a good motherboard for overclocking and is at the most $230

Here's my current list of parts

NZXT Lexa Midtower Case
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 400GB
Hanns·G HW-223DPB 22" LCD Monitor
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 2900XT 1GB
KINGWIN 800W Power Supply
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Scythe Infinity (4 fans)
A-DATA Extreme Edition 4GB (4 x 1GB) DDR2 800
First off have you bought that computer yet? Becuase a few things...

Kingwin don't make reliable PSU's, the HD2900XT isn't a very good price/performance card, A-Data Extreme isn't as good as G.skill HZ's for cheaper, and the Core 2 Quad is going to need a more powerful cooler than a Scythe Infinity I think.

However back to the OP

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 09:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 45
Default Re: mobo

about the whole sli/crossfire thing. i'd rather have sli because i'm only using this card until the new nvidia ones come out and then i'll probably have two of them
N1gh7 is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 09:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 45
Default Re: mobo

and no i haven't bought it yet
N1gh7 is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 09:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by N1gh7 View Post
about the whole sli/crossfire thing. i'd rather have sli because i'm only using this card until the new nvidia ones come out and then i'll probably have two of them
I don't support SLI because do you plan on getting two of the fastest series cards or whatever and spending 1200 on graphics cards? if not then a single one is better. However if you MUST have SLI (even though most people realize later it's not worth the money)

then this is a motherboard you want

Newegg.com - MSI P6N SLI Platinum LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 650i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Also are you SERIOUSLY considering running a system like that with SLI 9 series with an 800w Kingwin PSU? Thats not very smart. Kingwin DON'T make that good of PSU's and there are much better around 180 bucks than it
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 09:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 45
Default Re: mobo

well, changed my memory to g.skill, and picked the msi mobo, but the cooling for the quad core might be an issue still, i'll need something that will allow me to be able to overclock it to about 3.2
N1gh7 is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 09:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: mobo

Your going to want a better PSU

Newegg.com - SILVERSTONE ST75F ATX12V / EPS12V 750W Power Supply 115 - 240V - Retail

For a cooler try one of these becuase that Scythe Infinity won't cut it

Newegg.com - Tuniq Tower 120 P4 & K8 CPU Cooler - Retail
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 09:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 45
Default Re: mobo

what about ENERMAX INFINITI 720 watt?
N1gh7 is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 09:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: mobo

Enermax are better PSU's than kingwin so go for it if thats the best you can get
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobo temps? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-21-2007 10:10 PM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
Plugging wires in the mobo power panel incorrectly piggysmile Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-25-2007 09:17 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
MoBo question xcoreRelentless New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-07-2007 10:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.