Mixing up RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2008, 08:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Question Mixing up RAM

I've got a 2x1Gb set of Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800 in my rig

I've been thinking about plunking in a 2x2GB set in there.. they are quite cheap now.. matching with a 2x2GB set of Tracers doesn't seem like an option, they cost $140 (plus I've been hearing that the recent batch of Crucial memory is crud)

I've found some Patriot, OCZ and G.Skill sets for ~$50, some are DDR2-800 and others are DDR2-1000

What do you guys think?

What of the voltage requirements, timings and whatnot?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 09:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Mixing up RAM

Don't expect to get crazy overclocks, but it should work fine. Don't be surprised if you encounter instability though.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 09:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Mixing up RAM

Maybe sell your good Tracers (that's a good selling point) and buy the 4gb Kit
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 10:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Mixing up RAM

or do that better advice
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 12:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Black.Ice. Send a message via MSN to Black.Ice.
Default Re: Mixing up RAM

Well...If you're still looking for those 2x2s, here's a superb deal for the Baillistix.

FRYS.com*|*CRUCIAL

Can't beat the price.
Bought mine a few hours ago.
__________________
$500 rig ftw: :D

Case: CM 690 Black ATX Mid Tower
Mobo ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe AM2 nForce 590 SLI
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Black Edition @ 3.2GHz 23 C idle 37 load :O
GFX: 8600 GT XXX 256 mb :(
RAM: Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 mhz PC2 6400
HDD: Seagate Barracuda ST3320620AS 320GB 7200 RPM w/ Slave Western Digital Caviar WD800BB 80GB 7200 RPM
HSF: Zalman CNPS9700 LED 110mm 2 Ball
PSU: CM eXtreme Power Dual 12V rails @ 36A 650W

Tee Hee!
Black.Ice. is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 07:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Mixing up RAM

yeah you can still use them and itll be fine as long as your not overclocking which there isnt really much point anyway. 800-1000 wont be that much diff. but i would just sell or keep the 2gb set out and just buy a new 4gb set, for $19 cant go wrong.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 09:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Mixing up RAM

I thought the 4gb's also went single sided
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 01:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Mixing up RAM

yeah but if hes not going to overclock, they will do for $19
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 06:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: Mixing up RAM

sold out.

next best option:
FRYS.com*|*PATRIOT
__________________

UA_Iron is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with RAM / CPU. zukster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 09:43 PM
Need help with ram identification s37d System Upgrades 5 02-08-2008 02:22 AM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM
RAM Problems? cfgcjm New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-02-2007 12:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.