Mixing a SATA drive with an IDE - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2007, 03:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 91
Default Mixing a SATA drive with an IDE

Will this work straight forward, adding a IDE drive as slave to a SATA drive, I heard there can be/was issues?

.....adding at same time as a XFX 8800gt :P!
__________________

__________________
:freak:
| Intel Core 2 Q6600 / Zalman CNPS7000Bcu CPU LED cooler | XFX GeForce 8800GT Alpha Dog 512MB PCI-E | 2x1024mb Corsair XMS2 6400 | Gigabyte N650SLI DS4 | OCZ GameXstream 850W | Hitachi Deskstar 80gb IDE | WD Caviar 160gb IDE | WD Caviar 250gb SATA | Coolermaster Aerogate 2 |
IGeMex is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 03:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Mixing a SATA drive with an IDE

Actually, the SATA drives are independent and they don't have masters or slaves. Adding a SATA drive to an existing IDE setup shouldn't be a problem.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 03:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Mixing a SATA drive with an IDE

peterhuang913 is right.

SATA drives don't do the whole master / slave thing.

So you'll simply have your SATA drive in the SATA port, and your IDE drive as a master on an IDE cable (or it could be slave if you have something else on that cable already).

I'm doing it with a SATA1.5 and an old IDE drive right now. My computer is 4 years old, and had no issues with it... so I think you should be fine.
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 04:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 91
Default Re: Mixing a SATA drive with an IDE

OK cheers alot dudes and dudettes merry fraggin and happy christmas
__________________
:freak:
| Intel Core 2 Q6600 / Zalman CNPS7000Bcu CPU LED cooler | XFX GeForce 8800GT Alpha Dog 512MB PCI-E | 2x1024mb Corsair XMS2 6400 | Gigabyte N650SLI DS4 | OCZ GameXstream 850W | Hitachi Deskstar 80gb IDE | WD Caviar 160gb IDE | WD Caviar 250gb SATA | Coolermaster Aerogate 2 |
IGeMex is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
need help with sata hard drive busa4 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 11-05-2007 02:19 AM
IDE RAID and SATA RAID togather abadjay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-02-2007 02:37 PM
SATA DVD drive disappears after reboot nutmilk Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 05-31-2007 02:30 PM
SATA hard drive not recognized in Windows XP setup bcase21 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-31-2007 12:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.