Mixing RAM Capacities - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2011, 08:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 27
Default Mixing RAM Capacities

I had a question about mixing RAM.

I have triple channel 3GB triple channel ram currently installed. I would like to upgrade.

Currently have: 3GB (3 x 1GB)|DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500)|7 Latency
Want to upgrade with: 6GB (3x2GB)|DDR3-1600 (PC3-12800)| 9 Latency
To bring me up to 9GB
What should I know about combining these?
The speed will go down to 1066, the latency will go up to 9, right? Will I still have triple channel?
Someone told me that I would lose triple channel if I mix the RAM capacities....
__________________

ratzlaff is offline  
Old 05-13-2011, 09:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Suzhou, Jiangsu Province, China
Posts: 17
Send a message via MSN to thesilversavers
Default Re: Mixing RAM Capacities

What is your system configuration?

Also, it is better to swap your RAM config for a newer and faster one of 6GB, because adding more RAM does not speed up your computer. The latency and speed of the RAM does. Of course, memory size does matter but you won't be using more than 5 GB, even when you play super intensive games like Crysis 2. Swapping your RAM for a new set does because if you choose one that is has a lower latency and a faster speed (1600Mhz is common today), your computer will run much faster.
__________________

thesilversavers is offline  
Old 05-14-2011, 01:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Mixing RAM Capacities

You are correct. Unless you are running super memory intensive stuff (huge Photoshop projects, video editing) the faster RAM will give a better performance boost that 9GB at a slower speed.

Please note that, unless your motherboard natively runs RAM at 1600, you may not get all the additional speed. If your mobo runs 1333 natively then it will only run the 1600 at 1333. If this is the case you will have to slightly overclock the RAM to get the speed.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-14-2011, 04:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 27
Default Re: Mixing RAM Capacities

I went ahead and bought the memory. Here are screenshots of the different combinations. So to answer my main question...does it still get triple channel (which no one seemed to know or never bothered to answer)? Yes it still gets triple channel. And speed doesn't really matter in my specific case. (which I already knew)

ratzlaff is offline  
Old 05-14-2011, 06:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Mixing RAM Capacities

I missed the question about triple channel, sorry. As long as you have identical DIMMs populating each of the three slots of a channel you will be in triple channel, even if you have different capacity DIMMs in the two different channels (i.e. 3x1GB and 3x2GB).
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mixing up RAM Merkwürdigeliebe New Systems | Building and Buying 8 12-22-2008 06:42 PM
Advantages to larger RAM capacities? Perf System Upgrades 14 12-06-2008 01:05 AM
mixing ecc and non-ecc ram Millenniumtiger System Upgrades 2 03-09-2006 08:35 PM
Mixing ram zerodayATK New Systems | Building and Buying 4 11-26-2005 05:13 PM
mixing ram jester6565 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 08-06-2005 07:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.