Minor overclocking question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2007, 10:44 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Minor overclocking question

I know when i run my quad at stock speeds i can undervolt it pretty easily. Also if you havent already, make sure you are setting the voltage manually. When left on auto the board always uses too much voltage so you will end up running hotter than you would with manual voltage. Try setting it to 9x300 and setting the CPU voltage to 1.2V. Then keep an eye on your temps and stability. Adjust as needed.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 09:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 161
Default Re: Minor overclocking question

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
I know when i run my quad at stock speeds i can undervolt it pretty easily. Also if you havent already, make sure you are setting the voltage manually. When left on auto the board always uses too much voltage so you will end up running hotter than you would with manual voltage. Try setting it to 9x300 and setting the CPU voltage to 1.2V. Then keep an eye on your temps and stability. Adjust as needed.
Hmmm weird I was always under the impression that you needed more vcore ( aka voltage? ) to overclock but you guys are telling me the boards default setting gives it too much voltage and I can actually lower the voltage and still raise the fsb? If I raise the fsb and theres not enough voltage what are the side effects? Isn't it safer for me to just raise the fsb and keep it at stock voltage.

Ive very hesitant to touch the vcore because I don't know what its currently set at since the p35 ds3r mobo doesnt report it it just says automatic. CPU Z reports it as constantly changing from like 1.152 v to 1.2 v so I don't know how accurate that is...
__________________

VampD is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 02:31 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 161
Default Re: Minor overclocking question

anyone have a clarification response?
VampD is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 07:22 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Minor overclocking question

Quote:
Originally Posted by VampD View Post
Hmmm weird I was always under the impression that you needed more vcore ( aka voltage? ) to overclock but you guys are telling me the boards default setting gives it too much voltage and I can actually lower the voltage and still raise the fsb? If I raise the fsb and theres not enough voltage what are the side effects? Isn't it safer for me to just raise the fsb and keep it at stock voltage.

Ive very hesitant to touch the vcore because I don't know what its currently set at since the p35 ds3r mobo doesnt report it it just says automatic. CPU Z reports it as constantly changing from like 1.152 v to 1.2 v so I don't know how accurate that is...
Well to overclock to higher clocks you do need to pump more VCore but not that much i think its on all C2D and Quads. Raise the FSB by 10-20mhz id say and see how stable it is. And CPU-Z for a lot of people is incorrect , go to the BIOS and check what voltage its giving the CPU or check online for Q6600 stock voltage , hope that helps.
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 10:49 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Minor overclocking question

When using "auto" settings for voltage in the bios, the board will generally give more voltage than is actually needed. Stock voltage for a q6600 is 1.2v if i recall correctly and will usually allow you to get up to around 3.15ghz before you need to raise the voltage. This will still cause your temps to go up significantly if you are using stock cooling.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Question using RadioButton in VB.Net punkin Programming 4 07-08-2007 11:20 PM
Mobo Question Indobos New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-28-2007 11:45 PM
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 06:38 PM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.