might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2009, 11:32 AM   #31 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

OCZ FTW! i would def get the OCZ, nice heatsink and OK timings. why dont you get some 1066MHz ram?
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 06:08 PM   #32 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
OCZ FTW! i would def get the OCZ, nice heatsink and OK timings. why dont you get some 1066MHz ram?
if i could easily OC to that 1066 with any of these sets, there is no need for me to spend more for 1066. I've looked, not as interested especially when i can get best bang for buck out of these RAM kits.

question, what about the voltage? Should the voltage be lower so i can make it easier to OC to 1066 frequency?
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 08:10 PM   #33 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

well, theoretically the lower the voltage then that would theoretically give you a little moar head room.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 09:27 PM   #34 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

My old HZ's ran at 2.2v and they overclocked to 1100 easy. They probably could have gone further but my cpu couldn't overclock for **** so I never bothered.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 11:52 PM   #35 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

so all in favor of the OCZ RAM then?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 11:57 PM   #36 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

Out of those, the Reapers are your best bet...I would get PI Blacks if they didn't go up to 60 bucks.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 12:31 AM   #37 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

ok i just ordered the OCZ Reaper HPC! Thank u all for helping me! Truly appreciate it!
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 12:41 AM   #38 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

No problemo! Enjoy!
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 02:50 AM   #39 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Um, no. I'm running 4GB, Mak is running 3GB. We both run just perfectly fine. I'm using up 1.4GB with ~60 processes running.


It depends on the games you're running. And remember, Win7 still uses SuperFetch which preloads programs into RAM, and dumps them as the system needs RAM.



Guarantee you're never gonna use 8GB of RAM unless you're doing CAD work.


The requirements won't change much, if at all. THey haven't changed from the Beta to the RC with all teh tweaks that have been done and its pretty much ready to release now. And it is a small OS; Win7 Ultimate with quite a few of my basic programs I use a lot, as well as some downloaded things, I'm using up 17.7GB (including a 4GB of virtual memory). Much better than Vista.
Agreed with this post, except... (sorry to kind of hijack the thread a bit)

When I installed win7 a while ago, not the RC, on a 50gb Partition just to try it out... It filled it up right after installing it. I didn't install any other programs either....
This wasn't really a turn off as I have 1tb internal, and plenty of storage externally. Any idea why I had that happen to me? I will probably install win7 RC on my next reformat instead of vista ultimate.
Drizzt is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 03:12 AM   #40 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

Stick with 4Gb now. Upgrade to 4+ once Windows 7 comes out if you feel that it's required.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 FAQ and Questions KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 1600 03-04-2013 11:29 PM
Windows 7 Build 6801 on an ancient laptop CalcProgrammer1 Off Topic Discussion 7 12-09-2008 07:40 PM
Windows OS that will recognize more than 6GB of Ram jmarple Microsoft Windows and Software 10 03-27-2008 08:24 AM
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM
Windows Vista Upgrade uzi9mm Off Topic Discussion 18 07-19-2007 09:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.