might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2009, 03:38 AM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinscher View Post
I agree with that. Ram usage seems to be a big misunderstanding for alot of people just starting out.

I did see a review (I think it was Tom's Hardware) that showed a 5-10 fps gain when using 6gb over 3gb (with an i7 of course)
I saw that same review. I don't think it was necessarily because it was exactly 6GB of RAM, but that 3GB of RAM was a limiting factor. I was surprised to see that big of a gain myself.

Quote:
Originally Posted by meat_helmet View Post
Vista has also skewed peoples view of how much ram they need. It basically takes about a third of your ram as a reserve, but its not actually using it. I think alot of people dont realise this.

Wildside, i think you will benifit from having 4gbs of ram, but only if its a new dual-channel set, not just adding another stick.
.
Wildside you should keep that in mind. It looks like you plan on keepin you ballistix which is fine if that's what you really want, but for the sake of dual channel, performance, and keeping things simple, I'd pick up those 2.1v vipers on sale if you want to go for a rebate. If not I would suggest these- Newegg.com - G.SKILL HK 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Shipping isn't free on them, but they run at 1.8v-1.9v, they're 4-4-4-12, and they're still cheap.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 03:58 AM   #22 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

problem though that i should of mentioned in my first post. My mobo RAM compatibility:

MSI Computer Corp. - Product

i just now bid for this Crucial Ballistix 2 x 2GB DDR2 800 4-4-4-12 2.0v for $31.50, plus this has free shipping! I'm going to get my Paypal account ready tomorrow. I want this badly!:

Crucial Ballistix RAM DDR2 800 PC 6400 4 GB ( 2 x 2GB ) - eBay (item 110387317236 end time May-14-09 18:37:05 PDT)
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 09:42 AM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
problem though that i should of mentioned in my first post. My mobo RAM compatibility:

MSI Computer Corp. - Product

i just now bid for this Crucial Ballistix 2 x 2GB DDR2 800 4-4-4-12 2.0v for $31.50, plus this has free shipping! I'm going to get my Paypal account ready tomorrow. I want this badly!:

Crucial Ballistix RAM DDR2 800 PC 6400 4 GB ( 2 x 2GB ) - eBay (item 110387317236 end time May-14-09 18:37:05 PDT)
I would not worry about that. Sure they are 'supported' which probably means they have been tested with that memory, but as you will see there is no 'unsupported' list. All it means is that some memory wasnt tested with it. I have never heard of any memory not working soley because the brand wasnt 'supported'.

As long as the memory complies with the motherboard's memory spec there is no reason why it shouldnt work.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 02:59 PM   #24 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

^ You would think, but my BAllistixs won't boot in my p5n-e sli (aka 650i).
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 12:53 AM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

^ That's odd. I've never once had any memory not work on a motherboad I've had. I've ran various models of Crucial, OCZ, Corsair, Kingston, and Patriot. Must be one of those one in a million things.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 11:26 AM   #26 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOtis View Post
^ That's odd. I've never once had any memory not work on a motherboad I've had. I've ran various models of Crucial, OCZ, Corsair, Kingston, and Patriot. Must be one of those one in a million things.

Yha, bought 35 buck generic ram and blam... booted right up.

Had 4 sticks of the Corsair, and none worked.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 03:03 PM   #27 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

i think i convinced him on msn last night to pick these up.

Newegg.ca - Patriot Viper 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

but i found these on the second page.

Newegg.ca - Patriot Viper 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 900(PC2 7200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
they have no rebate tho.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 01:03 AM   #28 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

alright guys, i've found my RAM choices. Enough is enough and this is it! It all comes down to these three choices of my choosing. No exceptions! Which one should i buy, for i will OC the RAM as high as i could go:

OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

CORSAIR XMS2 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 01:15 AM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

If you're dead set on one of those sets, I would go with the OCZ for better timings
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 07:12 AM   #30 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

nice you found reapers for 59 i would go with the gskill for the lower voltages tho. alltho the reapers at 2.2 should do crazy clocks.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 FAQ and Questions KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 1600 03-04-2013 11:29 PM
Windows 7 Build 6801 on an ancient laptop CalcProgrammer1 Off Topic Discussion 7 12-09-2008 07:40 PM
Windows OS that will recognize more than 6GB of Ram jmarple Microsoft Windows and Software 10 03-27-2008 08:24 AM
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM
Windows Vista Upgrade uzi9mm Off Topic Discussion 18 07-19-2007 09:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.