might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2009, 03:06 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

with my new setup and all it can do I generally use about 2-4 gigs of ram. i would recommend getting 6 for a 64bit os. thats just me.
__________________

__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 03:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

I would only recommend 6 if you're in a trichannel i7 setup.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 03:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

Haha too funny, I was installing a game today, and all of a sudden went VERY laggy, got into task manager to see I'm using 3.98Gigs of ram!

Thought of this thead imediately......... Not installing I set at 1.9 gigs with 2 gpu2s 3 excells and a word.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 03:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
I would only recommend 6 if you're in a trichannel i7 setup.
I'm convinced Tri-Channel has skewed the way people think about memory and how they purchase it, regardless of the platform. I think something should be added to that "Noob myths" sticky about dual channel, tri channel, 64-bit operating systems, and how much RAM you're likely to use with respect to what you use your computer for.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 08:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOtis View Post
I'm convinced Tri-Channel has skewed the way people think about memory and how they purchase it, regardless of the platform. I think something should be added to that "Noob myths" sticky about dual channel, tri channel, 64-bit operating systems, and how much RAM you're likely to use with respect to what you use your computer for.
I agree with that. Ram usage seems to be a big misunderstanding for alot of people just starting out.

I did see a review (I think it was Tom's Hardware) that showed a 5-10 fps gain when using 6gb over 3gb (with an i7 of course)
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 10:35 PM   #16 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

oh n btw, i have right now 79 processes running. 45% of my 3GB of RAM is being used. My page file usage is 3.29GB. The extra 1GB of RAM should help me out, yes? After i get Windows 7, i will get the 5870 x2 next summer n i have to upgrade my HDD. I only have under 50 GBs of capacity left to use. I will upgrade to 500GB, 32MB cache or 640GB idk yet.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 11:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

Vista has also skewed peoples view of how much ram they need. It basically takes about a third of your ram as a reserve, but its not actually using it. I think alot of people dont realise this.

Wildside, i think you will benifit from having 4gbs of ram, but only if its a new dual-channel set, not just adding another stick.

As stated before, 6gbs isnt needed for gaming, its just a common thing for i7s. Its only really needed for people who do alot of graphics work.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 01:01 AM   #18 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

ive finally decided to get this as Poizen22 recommended to me: Newegg.com - Patriot Viper 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

i may as well order these now because i dont want the rebate to go away.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 02:59 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

Thats dirt cheap, and these are even cheaper, lol:

Newegg.com - Patriot Viper 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

But they are running at 2.2v which is quite high.

These could be another alternative:

Newegg.com - OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Enhanced Bandwidth Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 03:22 AM   #20 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: might upgrade to 4GB or 6GB from 3GB when i get Windows 7, worth it?

thx! Found cheaper n it matches my Crucial Ballistix voltage too! However, shipping isnt free. I will keep looking for RAM.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 FAQ and Questions KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 1600 03-04-2013 11:29 PM
Windows 7 Build 6801 on an ancient laptop CalcProgrammer1 Off Topic Discussion 7 12-09-2008 07:40 PM
Windows OS that will recognize more than 6GB of Ram jmarple Microsoft Windows and Software 10 03-27-2008 08:24 AM
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM
Windows Vista Upgrade uzi9mm Off Topic Discussion 18 07-19-2007 09:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.