microATX for Celeron 800MHz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2006, 03:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default microATX for Celeron 800MHz

yea i know its old but its all i got for now and i want to make the best of it! please help me build a system around a celeron 800MHz and a nVidia FX 5500 OC PCI....i am looking for the best mobo for OCing and overall performance. I play WoW and intend to run Linux Gentoo on it. BTW is WoW and any other recent game compatable on Linux??? And what about my hardware and other software such as Norton 2006??? Please help!!!
__________________

__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 03:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Hmm... What's your budget... provided you have a case and such you're better off buying a new system, or go look for a fry's deal where they sell a budget proc and mobo for the price of one of them (about).
__________________

__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 03:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

well im into improving b/c i jus wanna gow/ what i got. somewhat strict budget, darn parents!
__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 04:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Well... what is the budget? and what do you need exactly. Do you have a case, psu, cd/dvd drive, hd's?
__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 05:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

i just need a mobo and mabe case...not sure.
btw when do u become a true techie?
__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 04:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Finding a motherboard for that cpu will be nearly impossible, let alone one that's good. I'm not aware of wow being for linux. You pretty much can't do anything with the setup you have now... depending on how many parts you need you could build a new system for around $170... so what is your budget?
__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 04:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Well since it needs to be Socket 370 and mATX you have only one option (in fact there are only two motherboards for Socket 370 on Newegg!).

Here it is.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 04:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Exactly what I was saying.. for $60 you can get a s754 G6100 mobo (nforce 4, pcie, SATAII and onboard GeForce 6100 GFX) (plus it's micro) then add a $60-70 sempron64 cpu, and a 512 stick of ram and your good to go for WOW... I built that setup for a friend, and it plays CSS and such very nicely, and he plays WOW and it looks/plays great. Much much better than an 800mhz celeron... which I doubt would play it at all.
__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 04:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

I don't have time to check now, but I believe that Socket 370 is Intel exclusive, right?
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 04:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Ya, after a certain time it becomes more expensive to upgrade an old system, such as trying to build a sA system right now. Best to go w/ a s754 budget system.
__________________

__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.