Memory speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2011, 08:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Memory speed

I got some more memory for my pc, Patriot PVT-36G1600ELK. I purchased 3x2 gb sticks for adding 6 more gb to my existing 3 gb of memory. The existing 3 gb of memory is Patriot PVT-33G1600ELK (3X1 gb sticks). I have an MSI Pro X58 motherboard and an i7 920 chip. I'm running windows 7 pro 64.
My issue: When I boot it up, my post screen shows 1066 memory, although I know this is 1600, and I thought I set my bios to the right speed, being 9-9-9-24. I do not know enough about overclocking in order to set my memory to the correct settings
__________________

Joe C is offline  
Old 05-30-2011, 09:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Memory speed

Post a screen shot of CPU-Z showing the CPU tab, Memory tab.

CPU-Z Home Page

Here an example.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-30-2011, 09:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Memory speed

Thanks Slaymate. Her's the screen shot you asked for

CPU



Memory
Joe C is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 07:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Memory speed

Bump

anybody?
I did manage to get an o/c on it but that only gets me to 1400 of my available 1600 speed. If I am in the wrong forum, should it be moved for a better response ?
Joe C is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 08:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Memory speed

Your memory multiplier is presently at 8 (2:8).

133.7 x 8 = 1069.6

1069.6 / 2 = 534.8

You need to raise the multiplier to 12 (2:12) which would give you

133.7 x 12 = 1604.4

1604.4 / 2 = 802.2
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 08:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Memory speed

I have a cell menu in my bios but it has a load of options for setting the memory, not sure what that's called. Will raising my memory affect my cpu too?

Here is what I have after I adjusted my bios ....running h/w monitor shows 65-70c under a load but my fans really need to be cleaned out





what do I need to look for to adjust my memory from 2:8 to 2:12?
Joe C is offline  
Old 06-05-2011, 09:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Memory speed

Well I finally got it right





I found help at another forum, but thanks for trying here
__________________

Joe C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory speed Beagle New Systems | Building and Buying 10 09-04-2008 08:22 AM
Memory Speed procagefighter System Upgrades 3 05-29-2006 02:30 AM
memory speed jaksback Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 24 10-12-2004 11:12 AM
Cpu Fsb Speed And Memory Speed cell567 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 03-29-2004 05:11 AM
memory speed and cpu speed OrionGazer52 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 03-14-2004 08:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.