memory question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2007, 07:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Question memory question

i am very new to memory detail and i have no very little knowlege. my question is that i am running 4x512 corsair ddr2 533. when i used cpu-z, it says that its running on 266 mhz. i dont know if that is the correct mhz that it should it be in or not. any comments?
Newegg.com - CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 533 (PC2 4200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
__________________

__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 07:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: memory question

No, CPU-Z is correct. DDR2-533's real speed is 266MHz. It's just that a ram's speed is doubled, to show it's effective speed. Hence DDR=Double Data Rate. So it's 266 x 2 = 533MHz.

Another example:
DDR2-800....800MHz is it's effective speed. 800/2 = 400MHz, which is it's real speed.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 07:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: memory question

oh, i learnt something new
thanks man
__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 11:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: memory question

lol i remember when u told me that too
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 11:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: memory question

Quote:
Originally Posted by siddanth3 View Post
oh, i learnt something new
thanks man
ya its funny, knowing the terminology sometimes help u understand the math involved
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help With Memory Problem AntonOle New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-15-2007 01:46 PM
Memory MOdules Problem - Timings Please Help babistor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 05-03-2007 05:57 AM
Memory Question montdj New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-09-2007 10:25 PM
Need some help choosing memory before I buy today guitarplyrstevo New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-02-2007 02:52 AM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.