Memory Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2006, 07:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default Memory Question

Would adding a memory heatsink..

(this one)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835130012

on to this memory do any good?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820144020



it says the memory already has a heat spreader so i dont know if i can even put the heatsink on. would it do any good if i could put it on?

thanks.
__________________

tennisfrk is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 07:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

well it looks like your memeory already has a similar setup on it. SO I think it wouldnt help anymore then the heat spreaders
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 07:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

No, that memory already has heat spreaders. You can't double up on that
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 07:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Quote:
Quoted from GEILs site specs for:"GEIL PC2-6400 800Mhz DDR2 Dual Channel Kit"


Available in 1GB and 2GB Dual Channel Kit



PC6400 800MHz CAS 5-5-5-15

64x8 DDR2 FBGA Chips

240pin, Non-ECC, Un-buffered DDR2 SDRAM DIMM

Aluminum Heat-spreader

6 Layers Ultra Low Noises Shielded PCB

ATI Crossfire Ceritified

Retail Package

Lifetime Warranty

1.8V Power Supply
I would say No. if you really think you need better heatspreaders, get these: http://www.petrastechshop.com/coalmehepof2.html

edit: not sure those will fit actualy, its built for DDR not DDR2 but perhaps its the same size for both?? I can check for you tomorrow if you wish.

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 07:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

1) the ram already has heatspreaders
2) removing the current ones may void warranty
3) ram heatspreaders have not been proven to actually cool the ram sticks anyways, but it does no harm, it makes the ram look expensive, and it looks cool too.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.