Memory Frequency, ect. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2010, 04:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Memory Frequency, ect.

Well I was recently looking to upgrade memory for my gaming pc because I found it running a little slower than I'd like. I currently have 4gb of memory: OCZ Dual Channel Platinum 4096MB PC8500 DDR2 1066MHz Memory (2 x 2048MB) at TigerDirect.com

I was looking to get another 4gb when I read some reviews saying that it runs at 800mhz. I restarted my computer and (during boot-up) I found that my memory was running at 800mhz. I went into the BIOS and manually increased the speed to 1066mhz, its advertised speed. Now the BIOS says it is 1066mhz, but I don't really notice a difference. Does this speed change make any difference? If so, in what parts of the computer (starting programs? start-up?)

Is there a program that I can use to monitor memory frequency (and voltage, timings, etc)?
__________________

Night Fox is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 09:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Memory Frequency, ect.

realistically, you would probably notice a performance increase in benchmarking, not so much from just general pc use.

what is the rest of your setup like; what parts?
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 03-07-2010, 07:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Memory Frequency, ect.

Processor: Q9400. Quad Core, 2.66ghz
Video Card: GeForce 9500gt (not very good i know, but it still works for me..)
Motherboard: ASUS P5Q
Hard Drive: Western Digital 500GB 7200 rpm
PSU: Ultra 500w

I've searched around already, but is there any program that monitors memory at all?


Also, when i boot up, it says the memory is single-channel when it is really dual channel...how do i fix this?
Night Fox is offline  
Old 03-07-2010, 09:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Memory Frequency, ect.

try CPUID it will tell you at what freq. and timings (and i think voltages) your ram is running at.

in what slots do you have your ram installed in? they should be in either both yellow slots or both black slots for dual channel.

and i think the gfx card is your problem there, it's not a gaming card.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 03-07-2010, 01:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Memory Frequency, ect.

I have them installed in slots 1 and 2, now for the color, i have no idea...

I'll try cpuid and see what happens..
Night Fox is offline  
Old 03-07-2010, 01:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Memory Frequency, ect.

i mean the color of your ram slots.



for your ram to work in dual channel, your 2 ram stick have to be in either the yellow slots (1 and 3) or the black slots (2 and 4)
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 03-07-2010, 01:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Memory Frequency, ect.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubber_Ducky View Post
I have them installed in slots 1 and 2, now for the color, i have no idea...

I'll try cpuid and see what happens..
They should be installed in slots 1 &3 or slots 2 & 4, and the slots should be color coded as per Muffin Man post.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 03-07-2010, 02:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Memory Frequency, ect.

....they are in slots 1 and 2, so no, 1 is in yellow and 1 is in black...

So all i have to do to make it dual channel is put them both in the same color?

What exactly does/is dual channel (do)?
Night Fox is offline  
Old 03-07-2010, 02:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Memory Frequency, ect.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubber_Ducky View Post
....they are in slots 1 and 2, so no, 1 is in yellow and 1 is in black...

So all i have to do to make it dual channel is put them both in the same color?
i know, you already said you had them in slots 1 and 2, and both me and Slay are telling you that for the ram to work in dual channel, they need to be in slots 1 and 3 (both the yellow slots) or 2 and 4 (both the black slots).

the way you have it set up right now with your ram in slots 1 and 2 (yellow and black slot), the ram will only work in single channel, not dual.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubber_Ducky View Post
What exactly does/is dual channel (do)?
Dual-channel architecture - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 03-07-2010, 04:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Memory Frequency, ect.

SEE IMAGE HERE!


This is a screenshot of the memory tab of that program you gave me. I see it says single channel. All that I would need to do to make it dual channel is changed the memory so they're in the slots of the same color?

Another thing is that the DRAM Frequency is 534.3ghz. I changed the ram frequency in the bios to 1066...why doesn't the program give me the same number?
__________________

Night Fox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Borderlands configuration file help? Chad711 PC Gaming 12 11-01-2009 06:36 PM
Micron enters graphics memory business thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 3 05-17-2009 05:37 PM
DDR3 Memory / 1333Mhz Read Error Pezzy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-16-2009 01:24 PM
2 memory freq #'s?? bkolk Overclocking and Modding 0 06-28-2008 01:17 PM
Memory speed related to Overclocking Wease Overclocking and Modding 2 01-22-2008 10:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.