memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2005, 05:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to Shake and Bake
Default memory

If I were to put PC5200 667Mhz memory in my computer would my processor hold it back from performing or does that have nothing to with it. Right now I have 2 sticks of 256MB PC3200 memory, Athlon 64 3000+, X600 128MB and a dual channel DDR 400 motherboard. I'm thinking about upgrading the memory to 2 sticks of the PC5200 and the video card to a 6800 XT 256MB. Would something not match and slow one thing down or what? I would appreciate a reply.

Shake and Bake is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 05:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead

ok first of all, do yourself a favor and save another 40$ or so and buy a EVGA 6800GS, and unless your overclocking you dont need Pc5200 ram your mobo willl just restrain it to pc3200 ram(or at least thats what i've heard) . but still upgrade it from you current 512 to 1g or 2g

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 06:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

Well, the speed of the RAM is determined by what you have your multiplier and CPU speed set to. By default, PC5200 RAM will run at PC3200 speeds, unless you overclock. So, basically, unless you are willing to overclock, then it is really pointless on getting faster RAM.

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 06:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

PC5200 is PC2-5200 as DDRI doesn't run at speeds as high as 667MHz, or at least not widespread commercially. DDR2-667 wouldn't work with any existing AMD platform however it will become the AMD memory standard in Q2 2006

Save your money, get some DDR400 and buy a 6800GS as mentioned above
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 07:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to Shake and Bake

What about dual channel memory is that what you guys are talking about or is it diefferent?
Shake and Bake is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.