Memory 24gb vs 12gb triple channel - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2010, 08:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Question Memory 24gb vs 12gb triple channel

I am trying to figure out what memory to get for my MSI pro-e x58 (1366) motherboard. At first i thought it would be best to get 24gb with all 6 slots populated with single channel 4gb cards. Then i saw at post that made it seem that 12gb with all 6 slots populated with triple channel 2gb cards would be better. Is this true or was i just imaging things.

I tried posting this earlier but my account says i haven't posted any threads so sorry if this is a repeat.
__________________

Heads_Hats is offline  
Old 02-18-2010, 08:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,029
Default Re: Memory 24gb vs 12gb triple channel

Exactly what would you be using this set up for? 12GB will suffice for just about anything today. 24 is overkill

Or, you could just put three 4GB sticks and upgrade to that 24 later, if you really need it.
__________________

__________________
7700k • 32GB RAM • 512GB 960 Pro • GTX 1080 • NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline  
Old 02-18-2010, 09:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Memory 24gb vs 12gb triple channel

ok well might thought going into this pc was that i dont have much money so don't waste it on anything you'll want to upgrade sooner or later. So the idea would be buy a 4gb card now and slowly add more. I then realized that triple channel may be better. Would it be better idea to get 6gb of triple channel now instead of a 4 gb card. Which one will run faster now and which one will run faster once the slots are maxed out?


**edit**
ok it doesn't seem to be responding so lets try this again.
I don't have a lot of money so i want to go with the biggest i can get right now that won't require upgrading later. My question is will 12gb of triple channel run faster than 24gb of single channel. I would only have enough money for 6gb of triple channel or a single card of 4gb ram.
Heads_Hats is offline  
Old 02-18-2010, 09:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,029
Default Re: Memory 24gb vs 12gb triple channel

ohh I see what you mean.. I'd go with the three two gig sticks. You'll never use that much. Under normal circumstances, I'm sitting with about 6GB free.

unless you're some INSANE multitasker.. I mean, with Vista, Crysis, GTA IV, and the daily apps I run (FF, iTunes, Photoshop, etc), I had about 500MB left of 8GB

As for performance.. the 3x2GB sticks would be faster (more pins to access the memory from)

If all your slots are maxed out, then they would be pretty much equal in speeds. The 12GB would be faster because its less memory being accessed using the same number of pins (unless the 4GB is clocked faster... Even then, the differences are minimal.
__________________
7700k • 32GB RAM • 512GB 960 Pro • GTX 1080 • NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline  
Old 02-18-2010, 09:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Memory 24gb vs 12gb triple channel

thanks for the reply. Ill certainly go with the triple channel.
Heads_Hats is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory Fox Flushes Firefox’s Memory Constantly Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 19 12-14-2009 08:49 PM
Any Triple Channel RAM AMD boards out? Antec-User New Systems | Building and Buying 8 05-30-2009 05:41 AM
SuperTalent Cas 9 1.65v 2000Mhz Triple channel thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 0 04-15-2009 05:19 PM
A question pertaining to memory and builds. KingbobertVII New Systems | Building and Buying 1 03-06-2009 09:20 PM
dual channel memory location edwardopowers New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-06-2007 02:11 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.