Memory - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2008, 10:25 AM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 156
Default Re: Memory

ok ill look into it.
__________________

Noniy is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 04:57 PM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Memory

Quote:
get gskill ram its the best
For one g.skill is not the best. two HE IS NOT OVERCLOCKING, there would be no point to get g.skill or ocz reapers.

Holy Buckets, like i said, get corsair value select or some cheap equivlent, I'd get you a link but im pretty busy at work so if i get some time i'll put one.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 05:21 PM   #23 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Memory

noniy I would recommend these. If at all, later on in life you decide to oc which I'm sure you will because almost everyone here does. Get these
Newegg.com - Patriot Viper 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
They'll keep you happy for awhile
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 10:30 AM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 156
Default Re: Memory

Well i was thinking of Getting

Newegg.com - OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

But as luke stated i would only need ocz reaper if Overclocking.

But the only reason im not going to oerclock is this is my first build and i have no clue how to Overclock.

But would the OCZ reaper still be good or just i get the ones you recomended?

Because im not really sure.

But i did look into the Patriot its a bit cheapers with better timmings, but will it be good for gaming would you say?
And if i learn how to OC i probably will a little so then i could get the Reaper?

But im not really sure on which one to get.




Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
For one g.skill is not the best. two HE IS NOT OVERCLOCKING, there would be no point to get g.skill or ocz reapers.

Holy Buckets, like i said, get corsair value select or some cheap equivlent, I'd get you a link but im pretty busy at work so if i get some time i'll put one.
Ok, i see alot of people with crosair so if you have time a link to that would be nice but until then im going beetween patriot or reaper.
Noniy is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 11:33 AM   #25 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Memory

reapers or vipers are good. Pick any of those two and later on when your comfortable w/ ocing, you won't have to buy new ram.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 12:04 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 156
Default Re: Memory

ok but just by curiosity, do you OC thru the BIOS? or is it a program you need to get?

Ya im just gonna go whith the reaper:

Newegg.com - OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
Noniy is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 03:02 PM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Memory

^yes you oc thru the bios(well not video cards but thats a different story). Iwould get the vipers over the reapers (not that the reapers aren't good, it's just if you ever do overclock you prob won't be doing it much and the vipers are cheaper and would still oc fairly well.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 03:06 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Memory

Stick with the Vipers because its lower Cas Latency and Timings
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 06:51 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 156
Default Re: Memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
^yes you oc thru the bios(well not video cards but thats a different story). Iwould get the vipers over the reapers (not that the reapers aren't good, it's just if you ever do overclock you prob won't be doing it much and the vipers are cheaper and would still oc fairly well.
Ok but overall are the Reaper or the Viper better?


Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Stick with the Vipers because its lower Cas Latency and Timings

Yes, the timming are only a little bit lower but the Reapers Have a Heatsink.
The Timmings on the Reaper are 4-4-4-15
and The timmings on the Viper are 4-4-4-12.
Noniy is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 08:11 PM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Memory

Oh, I was talking about the ones you posted on the 2nd page which were like 5-3-3-12 or something...

sorry about that..

But I think the Viper's are a good lot cheaper
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
Motherboard/ Memory Read Error Pezzy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-02-2008 09:40 PM
Problems with Memory affecting SATA drive? DJUDX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 11-30-2007 06:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.