Memory - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2008, 04:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Memory

I'm noticing this question getting asked over and over again....

and there are not... from what I'm seeing (the RAM question)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-19-2008, 04:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Memory

huh?

5 letter limit
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-19-2008, 05:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Memory

Like can you use DDR2 800 in a Mobo that says DDR2 1066 is the standard type or Vice-Versa, for some reason in the past 3 days that question has been asked a lot..

um as for the last part.. it was to end the flame war... but I really don't want to get involved..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-19-2008, 06:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Memory

sorry proto, didn't see the last sentence in his post.^there was no flame war, no one is flaming. and as far as i know (and i guess it could be wronge but it't unlikely) a mobo that support 1066 would support any ddr2 under that (ex.800)
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 09:52 AM   #15 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
a lot of ddr2 800 kits will hit 1066 with 4-4-4-12 or lower, my ram does.
-but- a lot of 1066 kits will hit 1200+ with 5-5-5-15, my ram wont.

if you are planning on going over 525-550 fsb (i dont know what that mobo is capable of) with a 1:1 ratio the 1066 will be better.
as luke said...if you are not going to oc or oc to 450-500 the 800 will probably be fine. you can almost always raise the timings to 5-5-5-15 on ddr2 800 and get that speed, unless you get some lemons.
The more expensive and better kits though. You have the C4 XSM2 which for a very short time Corsair put D9's in i think we already went over this heh.

However kits these days don't have as many D9's as they used to so it's a little tougher finding them. I just bought some of these and i recommend them to the OP becuase they are D9GMH even if they are only DDR2-533. DDR2-533 if you aren't overclocking is all the higher you would need to go anyway. These are some of the only kits that have guaranteed D9GMH anymore and they are an awesome price. I just purchased a kit myself

2Gb Kit (2x1Gb) PC2 4200 3-3-3-8 D9GMH - 533-1GBx2-X by: Team -


Also why not overclock? My 750i FTW let me overclock my E6300 past 3.6ghz orthos stable at 1.4vcore. I almost shat myself.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 10:01 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Memory

i would just get ddr800, thats fast enough. i mean u would need a fsb of 400 to have a one to one ratio with that. thats 3.6 on a 9 times mutiplyer. if u get past that 800mhz can easy get to 1066mhz.
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 10:15 AM   #17 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
I'm noticing this question getting asked over and over again....

and there are not... from what I'm seeing (the RAM question)
This is becuase no one here searched the forums much becuase we will answer questions regardless. Now all the new mobos that are coming out have a 1066 standard and we recommend 800 because it's still all that's needed with the right modules.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-22-2008, 04:41 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 156
Default Re: Memory

Ok,

my Budget for Ram is about $120 ill be getting 4GB of it.

Since most of you Recomended 800Mhz with low Timings i am basicly asking whats the best Gaming memory with 800Mhz and low Timmings for my EVGA nForce 750i SLI Motherboard in my price range?
Noniy is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 11:59 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 156
Default Re: Memory

I think i found some good memory.

it has 4-4-4-15 timmings and 800Mhz.

And it is in my price range.

tell me what you think of it?

Newegg.com - OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory


Thanks
Noniy is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 07:17 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Memory

get gskill ram its the best
__________________

__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
Motherboard/ Memory Read Error Pezzy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-02-2008 09:40 PM
Problems with Memory affecting SATA drive? DJUDX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 11-30-2007 06:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.