MEdia CEnter Oc .. WHAts Needed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2006, 08:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default MEdia CEnter pc .. WHAts Needed

ok ... we have a dvd player in our living room and when ever we watch movies it overheads and frezzes so i told my mom why not build a pc for in here and we could use that to watch movies and listen to music and even type and such... whats needed?? we have a 40'' sony lcd .... what do i need to connect a pc to that ?? i think it would be totally coo to do that ooo another question i have a 9550se could i use that for the grafix card .. does it ahve the right connections??
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 09:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Look on the back of the LCD panel, what inputs does it have?

I would get something like this: http://www.asus.com/products4.aspx?m...l1=1&l2=3&l3=0

It has intergrated graphics with VGA out, which can be converted to what ever output you want (would be better to have VGA though.)

Add 512 of ram, a big hdd, DVD-r a TV card to record TV to it and a basic sempron and windows Media centre. Thats all you need, and will be about the same price as a HDD and DVD recorder (hopefully.)
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 09:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

i was looking at somthing like that but we dont have space issuses and i feel that if we put that were we put the dvd player it would over heat as well......
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 09:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

It will make it cheaper having a normal case. I would go for a Antec Sonata II Piano as I have used it in a build for my sister, and it is extremly quiet, and very stylish.

It comes with a 450w smartpower PSU.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 09:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

my 9550se has svid /compsites out .. so if my tv has svid/ comp in it connect??
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 11:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 118
Default

Yes.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/5283/tfsig25hj.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"350\" alt=\"Electric Shock Is For Losers\" />

<img src=\"http://img472.imageshack.us/img472/1782/userbars6jt.gif\" border=\"0\" width=\"350\" alt=\"Userbars by me, PM if you want me to make you some. =D\" />
ESIFL is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 03:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Ya I'm going to build a MCP for my parents too, when we buy a new LCD TV. In the meantime, I talked my dad into giving me the lcd moniter and hooking the family computer up to the TV! Hah.. so Ya win win situation.

I was thinking of buying a G6100 mobo and a cheap proc, with a nice DVD burner and a huge HDD and then one or 2 good TV tuners and windows media center and then sticking it in an Aspire X-Qpack for the MCP I was going to build.

What's your family's budget?
__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 08:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

hmmm..... i dont know but if you give me systems and prices ill see if they can work ..... o yeah if oyu guys do decied t omake a build put the patriot 1gb 28512 kit in it becasue i have 512 right now and i wanna make a gig so the MC pc will ahve 512 pat and ill have a gig
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 06:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I've built five of these in the last few months: They are selling like crazy:

AMD 3500+
MSI NeoPlat 4
SilverStone LC16M HTPC case
Antec 500w Smartpower PSU
1GIG Value RAM
1- 80GIG Seagate SATA
1- 300GIG Seagate SATA
1- Plextor PX-716AL/SW slotloading multidrive
x-fi xtreme music
ATI X1300
Hauppauge WinTV-PVR-500
MCE-Kit
Windows Media Center 2005

You can go lower on price in every category.
This one is like $1400+
HAVOC is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 06:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

very nice better than mine .... yeah i cant have that now can i but ima mess with that setup
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.