me = idiot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2008, 03:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 22
Default me = idiot

hey...im an idiot and i was too lazy to go check really...
so umm.. can anyone tell me whats the difference between the intel core 2 quad and the core 2 extreme?!~?!?!?!?!:freak: :freak:
__________________

Maximuss2072 is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 03:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: me = idiot

mostly the extreme is faster
and breaks bank

with the breaking bank being the big one

edit: also you might want to consider not making so many threads
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 03:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: me = idiot

core 2 quads are quad cores

intel core 2 extreme, comes in both dual core (x6800) and all quad core forms come in QX(6700, 6800, 6850, 9650, 9770,9775)

exteme editions have unlocked multiplier for easier overclocking ability, while regular core 2 quads, duo's and whatnot have a locked and set multiplier
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 03:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 22
Default Re: me = idiot

thanx so basically i must sell my body on the black market so that i can afford one lol..cool will do so
Maximuss2072 is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 08:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: me = idiot

u must have a really bad body if its only worth a grand lol, jj.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 09:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: me = idiot

for lazy overclockers.
__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 09:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: me = idiot

lol at lazy overclockers.. i think not.. more like.. for extreme overclockers.. and for people that are fsb limited..

i'm sorry but a q6600 will NEVER reach 5+ghz
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 09:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: me = idiot

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
lol at lazy overclockers.. i think not.. more like.. for extreme overclockers.. and for people that are fsb limited..

i'm sorry but a q6600 will NEVER reach 5+ghz
Haha, thanks Captain obvious. Because ya know. A processor that comes at 2.4ghz would be able to reach 5ghz right?! Hahaha.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 09:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: me = idiot

how does that make me captain obvious??? the person i quoted thought it was for lazy overclockers and i was correcting what he was saying

and showing that the lower end cpu's can't reach the same length due to fsb issues... and needing more extreme voltage on other parts rather than the cpu
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 11:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: me = idiot

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
how does that make me captain obvious??? the person i quoted thought it was for lazy overclockers and i was correcting what he was saying

and showing that the lower end cpu's can't reach the same length due to fsb issues... and needing more extreme voltage on other parts rather than the cpu
Well yeah you can overclock it past 3ghz but thats like me saying something random like your cpu can't over clock past 7ghz??? Yeah makes as much sense as your post. Besides when does some one push a quad with stock speeds at 2.4ghz anything past 3.5ghz~4ghz.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Todays idiot of the day award goes to... Ewc1307 Off Topic Discussion 3 03-16-2008 06:26 PM
Idiot Check SandTrout New Systems | Building and Buying 44 12-12-2007 03:18 PM
Question M16 Off Topic Discussion 28 11-30-2007 10:39 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.