Maybe it doesn't pay to wait ( not talking about q6600 ) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2007, 09:57 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Maybe it doesn't pay to wait ( not talking about q6600 )

gabb thats an awesome price for the x-fi gamer, put that in the buy/sell hot deals section
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 06:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Maybe it doesn't pay to wait ( not talking about q6600 )

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
gabb thats an awesome price for the x-fi gamer, put that in the buy/sell hot deals section
wheres that?
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 06:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Maybe it doesn't pay to wait ( not talking about q6600 )

why did you buy 2 different dvd burners?
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 06:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Maybe it doesn't pay to wait ( not talking about q6600 )

Quote:
Originally Posted by fade2black2004 View Post
why did you buy 2 different dvd burners?
ones a DVD-Rom not a burner and ASUS was the only SATA I could find at the time ( had 40 mins left to order before the end of July 27th, although it didnt matter cause they extended the date afterwards but I couldn't take that chance plus it was only 16 bucks ). Some have asked why get 2 optical drives? I was amazed by this question, its so conviniant to 2 drives in that I'm always swapping CDs/DVDs in and out of them. Having just 1 would just be a big hassle...
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Maybe it doesn't pay to wait ( not talking about q6600 )

eh i dont do discs much i have an external dvd drive and thats it
dvd drives are too slow for me lol
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 09:39 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
dude112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default Re: Maybe it doesn't pay to wait ( not talking about q6600 )

Don't people copy from disc to disc anymore?
It helps in that department as well :P
__________________
Finished:
Case: Fractal Design R4 \ PSU: Corsair TX-650 V2\ Mobo: Asrock Z75 Pro 3
Processor: Intel i5 3570K Stock
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600C9 (2x 4GB) \ Videocard: Gigabyte 7950 Windforce 3
SSD: Samsung 830 \ HDD: Samsung SpinPoint F1 500GB \ DVD-RW: 1x LG
Speakers: Logitech (2.1)\ Monitor: Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
Keyboard: MS Comfort Curve\ Mouse: Logitech MX 518
dude112 is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 09:50 AM   #17 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Maybe it doesn't pay to wait ( not talking about q6600 )

Quote:
Some have asked why get 2 optical drives?
I have 2 in my wife's computer, a reader and a burner. Did it to save wear and tear... but she doesn't use them the way they were intended.

My rig has one burner. I mount images of the disks I use the most, so it doesn't see a whole lot of use.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 10:03 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Sydzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 416
Default Re: Maybe it doesn't pay to wait ( not talking about q6600 )

Yeah, I basically never use my DVD drive, lol

Not kidding, the other day I turned on my comp, saw the light for my DVD drive turn on and got a shock going what the **** is that! Was that always there? before realizing the reason the case was a grey / black colour in that section instead of the normal pitch black is cause it turns out I have an optical drive! omgnowai!

I'm in the same boat as Trotter. If I ever actually need a disc, I usually have the image of it somewhere round the place. Like on the occasion that I actually BUY a game (shock horror) I install it, go to gamecopyworld.com and crack it straight up unless it is known to screw up with cracks, lol, cause I can't be bothered keeping up with all the discs round the place! They just go straight to the CD wallet, haha
__________________

92% of teenagers have put some stupid made up statistic in their signature. If you're one of the 8% that aren't quite as gulliable, copy this.
Sydzy is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 05:15 PM   #19 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Maybe it doesn't pay to wait ( not talking about q6600 )

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sydzy View Post
Yeah, I basically never use my DVD drive, lol


I'm in the same boat as Trotter. If I ever actually need a disc, I usually have the image of it somewhere round the place. Like on the occasion that I actually BUY a game (shock horror) I install it, go to gamecopyworld.com and crack it straight up unless it is known to screw up with cracks, lol, cause I can't be bothered keeping up with all the discs round the place! They just go straight to the CD wallet, haha
that doesn't work for newer more popular games with a lot of patches cause the cracks for the new patches take too long to come out
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Requirements for Q6600? will h4x 4 food New Systems | Building and Buying 31 06-27-2007 10:33 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Upgrade - Q6600, 4GB RAM - Thoughts? meat_helmet New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-12-2007 12:06 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.