Maxtor HDDs - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2006, 04:06 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

Lol thanx.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 08:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

either way, I'd recommend a Seagate or Western Digital drive instead of Maxtor.
maybe Seagate will improve the Maxtor drives, but we'll have to see some statistics later on

currently, Seagate drives have the lowest failure rate
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 09:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

I'm going to have to agree with apokalipse. I would get a Seagate or a Western Digital over a Maxtor in a heartbeat. Many people have had problems, but there are also some that haven't. I haven't heard near as many people complain about a Seagate or Western Digital as I have about a Maxtor.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 12:46 AM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

I can name off about 20 ppl right off the top of my head who would complain abot Western Digital and not look at one even if it was a 500gig HD for 2 bucks. WD sucks, period.
EDIT: Im not trying to start a flame war, just my opinion.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 11:48 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 28
Default

thanks guys,
i actually founsd that the SATA II MAxtor drives have problems when installed in a nForce 4 mobo.
i probably be getting this-

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148140
or any suggestions?
RAT-9 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 05:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Looks like a good harddrive go for it.

P.P. I have a WD and it works great, it's an external though. I'm not saying you're not entitled to an opinion, I'm just letting you know.
__________________

__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.