Maxing out Crysis - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2009, 01:09 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Maxing out Crysis

Nope. AM3 is coming out next month, as far as we know.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 11:43 AM   #12 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Maxing out Crysis

I started a thread on my mobo and wether or not it'd be P II compatible and it's not going to cut it for 3 reasons

1) It only supports a 95w TDP (even I've seen the 9850 x4 used in it before)

2) ECS isn't going to give me a BIOS to support PII b/c of the 95w TDP

and 3) it's a horrible overclocker, even the slightest bus speed/ voltage changes and it would just blue screen, of course that is if it made it past POSTing, I couldn't even get my 5000 BE to 3.1 Ghz AT ALL, I hit 3.0 GHz no biggy for a few days then one day on boot the board just stopped working all together, after an hour of fiddling I found out now it wouldn't even OC at all anymore, even when i flashed my bios a few days back not a thing changed, what a waste of money...

I'm looking at the MSI Platinum if I do decide to go AMD again Newegg.com - MSI K9A2 Platinum AM2+/AM2 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards


EDIT : So basically what an i7 build will cost to run Crysis

Newegg.com - ASUS P6T LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards $250

Newegg.com - XFX GX295NHHFF GeForce GTX 295 1792MB 896 &#40;448 x 2&#41;-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards $500

Newegg.com - Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops $300

Newegg.com - OCZ 3GB &#40;3 x 1GB&#41; 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 &#40;PC3 10666&#41; Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory $112

and a good cooler

either the CoolerMaster v8 Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER V8 RR-UV8-XBU1-GP 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks $70

or the Zalman 9700SN with the 1366 bracket which will run near $70

that's about $1270 total w/ shipping ....
__________________

chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 12:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Maxing out Crysis

^^^^ or you could get the xigmatek s1283 with a 1366 bracket and it'll cost you about $45 for the same performance
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 12:12 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Maxing out Crysis

my rig does that just fine, if you want another example ^^ 25-40 at 1920x1200, 40+ at 1680x1050

and the xig rifle is an amazing cooler. If it'll work with that bracket you don't need to spend 70$ on other ones. This cools better than my 500$ water loop did lol.
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 12:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Maxing out Crysis

xigmatek actually has a bracket out for that cooler ..so no use guessing at random brackets to see if they work :]
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 12:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Maxing out Crysis

Quote:
Originally Posted by wafflehammer View Post
xigmatek actually has a bracket out for that cooler ..so no use guessing at random brackets to see if they work :]

I was going to ask that, although that cooler is so tall I'd have to take the 80mm side fan out of my case window lol
chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 11:12 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Maxing out Crysis

This is with a light oc on the card and i think my cpu was at 3.6ghz:

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 01:34 AM   #18 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Maxing out Crysis

Quote:
Originally Posted by tastegw View Post
why would you want to actually play crysis tho?
Exactly.. that original is just way to frustrating and system demanding.. I beat Warhead Maxed out on everything w the rig in my sig @ 1680 x 1050.. It hiccuped once, and that was it.. didn't crash, just flashed for a SECOND.. but the card was getting hot too... (Getting a good LCS soon)

The game play on the original is a PITA... it's nice because it's the original, but all the other factors make me not want to play it anymore compared to Warhead.. ........... IMHO..

Dual 4870's 1G with a good LCS or a single 4870 X2 2G, and yes, I may be biased on the Phenom QC's... It's a MONSTER as far as multi tasking and hasn't budged over 43* with SLIGHT OC'ing.

-And call me curious, but; Wouldn't three 280's be a bit of a bottleneck @ 1680 x 1050?
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 01:39 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Maxing out Crysis

Regular crysis will run smooth with the proper hardware and using the very high tweak in xp.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 11:12 AM   #20 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Maxing out Crysis

It may just be me but most of the problems i've heard of with the original Crysis is when running XP.

I've never really had a problem pushing 30~35 FPS @ 1680x1050 (MED settings) with my underpowered rig. The worst that happened was I left F@H on when I started Crysis and I didn't get my CPU back so frames dipped into the low teens (cough).

I'm just tired of having to cut corners to play it and want to experience the game with all the goodies on, of course Crysis isn't the only game, Far Cry (2), Timeshift, GTA4, Warhead, Grid, Dead Space, COD4/5 , Mass Effect, and even Guitar Hero 3 :P, not to mention I'm tired of always scoring a 3dMark 06 score just shy of 10k (9875~9965 avg) .... It'll never hit 10 K lol such a tease ( of course being able to overclock my CPU may just fix that but NOO I just had to buy the ********* mobo known to man)


Anyways, I've read alot of reviews and have concluded for myself that a set of GTX 260 (216) in SLI will perform just as well as the GTX285 (stock vs stock and overclocked vs overclocked using reference versions of the boards)

And heat is always an issue to me so I prefer two cards running faster and cooler vs 1 hunk of a card just crunching massive numbers.

So here's my plan, see how this stacks up

Asus P6T LGA 1366 x58
Newegg.com - ASUS P6T LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

i7 920 (gonna over clock the **** out of it after being in my ECS based cage for so long)
Newegg.com - Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

OCZ 3gb 7-7-7-7-24 CS latency DDR3 10666
Newegg.com - OCZ 3GB &#40;3 x 1GB&#41; 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 &#40;PC3 10666&#41; Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

and xFx's diamond
Newegg.com - XFX GX260NADBF GeForce GTX 260 Black Edition Core 216 896MB 448-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

for now I'll use just the one GTX 260 and once I get more money it should come down even more and run me right about the same price as the GTX295 without having having to wait even longer for one big expense
not to mention I believe I should be able to push some nice numbers in SLI to compete against the GTX 295 once I OC (assuming I can get like results of most of the reviews I've seen)

I'm gonna use the HDD, PSU, and case I already have as it has more than ample cooling.
__________________

chesirecat1701 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My observation between Crysis and Crysis Warhead on my PC Wildside PC Gaming 12 12-04-2008 10:05 AM
Crysis Wars Free Trial Weekend!! Puddle Jumper PC Gaming 30 10-14-2008 06:08 PM
Crysis Warhead Sandbox editor and ModSDK in the works! HOORAY! Wildside PC Gaming 3 09-28-2008 04:02 AM
Crysis community finds way to get Dx10 features into XP/Dx9 Osiris PC Gaming 5 12-20-2007 09:30 AM
Crysis - Hands on...for those, wondering if they can run it.... b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 19 06-15-2007 02:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.