In the market for a gaming PC

Status
Not open for further replies.

buddhantraining

Beta member
Hey Gang,

I'm looking to buy or build a new PC but could definitely use some help here. I'm not too bad with computers, I've built tons in my time, but I haven't been keeping up with the new technologies this last year or two as far as video cards, CPUs, and mobos go. Thought I'd reach out to you more knowledgable folks to give me a hand :eek:)

The reason I'm looking for a new rig is to play FEAR, Half Life, etc. The games that are a little less intense play fine on my current system - but it's going on 4 years old, so time for an upgrade anyways! I do a lot of multitasking as well - I'm a web developer and graphic designer so usually have tons of programs open at once. I'm looking for something that's rough, tough, and built to last, as fast as I can afford, and easy to upgrade as the times change.

I've always built my own computers so never had a reason to check out pre-built systems before. After pricing some hardware and comparing it with pre-builts, I don't think I'll be saving much in building my own this time around...so thought maybe I'll just get a pre-built and save the hassle. I've checked out the offerings of ibuypower.com - they seem to have some great stuff over there, the prices don't look too shabby either. Problem is - I honestly have no clue what specs to go for. There's just so many choices and I've been out of the loop for way too long.

I'm looking to do this as cheaply as possible without making too many sacrifices where it counts - definitely under $1,000, preferably around $800 or so.

If anyone could give me a hand on this, it would be greatly appreciated!

hhhmm 800, well that might get you a core 2 duo. I think for a grand you could get a

cpu: Intel core 2 duo e6300
gpu: GeForce 7900gs
hard drive: 320gig sata2
CD rom: a dvd reader, burner combo drive.
power supply: antec true power ~550 watt