Many Questions. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2008, 03:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 168
Default Many Questions.

1. Is windows vista 64 bit worth it, how much of an improvement is going from 2 gigs to 4 gigs, also does 64 bit have software/driver issues.

2. Can i over clock a E6600 (intel 2.4ghz 2 cores) to 3.5 ghz using maximus formula mobo.

3. are the HD 3870 video cards and NCIX.com - Buy Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC2-6400 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-800 CL4-4-4-12 240PIN Dual Channel Kit W/ LEDs - BL2KIT12864AL804 In Canada.
compatible with the maximus formula motherboard
__________________

RyanWhitell is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 03:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Many Questions.

yes to all 3 including the some Software and Driver issues, and for hte RAM depends on what your doing
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 04:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 131
Send a message via AIM to Durftard Send a message via MSN to Durftard
Default Re: Many Questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
yes to all 3 including the some Software and Driver issues, and for hte RAM depends on what your doing
^ what this guy said, except I don't understand what you mean about the RAM vernong? it should work fine
__________________
MSI P6N Platinum SLI 650i
Cooler Master Stacker 830 SE
E2180 Core Duo @ 3.0Ghz (1.3vCore)+Stock HSF
2x 1GB G.skill @ 840Mhz 4-4-4-10-14
GeForce 8800 GTS 320 MB @ 655Mhz/1050Mhz
Samsung 19" SyncMaster 906BW
Corsair HX-520W
Durftard is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 04:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Many Questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Durftard View Post
except I don't understand what you mean about the RAM vernong?
The OP asked if going from 2gigs to 4 gigs would yield an improvment in performance.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 05:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 131
Send a message via AIM to Durftard Send a message via MSN to Durftard
Default Re: Many Questions.

ah, only noticed the part about the tracers durrrrr sorry
__________________
MSI P6N Platinum SLI 650i
Cooler Master Stacker 830 SE
E2180 Core Duo @ 3.0Ghz (1.3vCore)+Stock HSF
2x 1GB G.skill @ 840Mhz 4-4-4-10-14
GeForce 8800 GTS 320 MB @ 655Mhz/1050Mhz
Samsung 19" SyncMaster 906BW
Corsair HX-520W
Durftard is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 05:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 98
Default Re: Many Questions.

im running vista 64bit and i have had no compatability problems. There are a FEW programs that have slight issues, like coretemp for example... however all these issues have been resolved already with little fixes... i jsut had to google vista 64bit coretemp and i found a program that i run b4 i open it so that it works... thats about the most complicated compatability issue i have run across so far... and it took all of a minute and a half to solve.

as far as the RAM, id suggest 4 gigs. i really cant see it being too much of an issue with 2, but it depends on what games you play or if you into any video editing or stuff like that.

most of my games that i run on all high settings use about a gig of ram, give or take 250mb, and i use about 750-1000MB of ram just idling (thats with AVG, steam, xfire, and vent running). So if u do the math ur fine with 2 gigs for most everything.
if you enjoy gaming and are planning on getting a GPU and CPU to run them on high settings, i would suggest 64bit with 4 gigs of ram.

its always nice to know that its there if you need it ... and in my case i like to have a game playing and about 3 tabs of firefox open and stuff... multitasking is great
__________________
Laptop: Asus M51 Series http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16834220308

My Build: Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe || AMD Athalon x2 6000+ (3.25Ghz OC) || AC Freezer 64 Pro || nVidia GeForce 8800GT 512MB || G.Skill 2x 2GB DDR2 800 || Western Digital 500GB 7200 HDD || Samsung 20x DVD Burner || Sunbeam Transformer ATX Full Case || Windows Vista 64 Bit || Rosewill 850W PSU

Logitech G15 Keyboard (new orange version) & Logitech G5 Mouse (black/blue version)

11k 3DMark06 Score
mark1413 is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 07:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Many Questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
yes to all 3 including the some Software and Driver issues, and for hte RAM depends on what your doing
ooh I forgot something, I think i may have scared him off with 64bit because I forgot this minor detail: if your running Vista 64bit you can force Software into a different os (aka make it run like it was on Vista 32bit, however this doesn't work with Drivers unfortunately)

also for the 3.5ghz with a q6600 part: I forgot to mention asking about the cooling you have, I remember you saying something but with all the builds lately you forget the older ones haha
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 08:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 168
Default Re: Many Questions.

i have sufficient cooling.
RyanWhitell is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 08:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 168
Default Re: Many Questions.

and thanks for your replies
__________________

RyanWhitell is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workout Questions. KCRMYZ Off Topic Discussion 33 09-30-2008 06:30 PM
Simple voltage questions. manowar Overclocking and Modding 8 01-03-2008 05:05 PM
help steve thread ( plenty of questions ) solidsteve New Systems | Building and Buying 20 10-25-2007 03:02 PM
Lots of questions help.... pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-01-2007 02:28 AM
Two questions before pulling the trigger... Portland Newb New Systems | Building and Buying 12 08-16-2007 01:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.