Make suggestions for my first pc build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: What mp3 player do you have?
One of the iPod's 13 41.94%
One of the Creative's 5 16.13%
A mini disk player 0 0%
Other 6 19.35%
I don't have one, but id like to get one some day 5 16.13%
mp3 players are overated 2 6.45%
Voters: 31. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2005, 01:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 27
Default Make suggestions for my first pc build

Here is my list of pc parts that are going into my first pc build im also planning on upgrading in a year or two to 2 LCD monitors or a homemade projector and i will also get another 7800GTX eventually this pc is basically going to be used for about everything (media, gaming, web design, graphic design...) please make any suggestions you have
__________________

leglez is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 01:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Okay few suggestions

Mouse, a corded MX-518, Razer Diamondback / Copperhead or Microsoft Intellimice would be better.

You say Viewsonic LCD monitor, but your link points to a CRT

Processor, you may want to switch to a 3700+ San Diego core, expisally if your an overclocker and dealing with media
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 02:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 27
Default

Ok i changed to the 3700+ also whats wrong with the mouse i was wanting a wireless because a lot of times i sit on my bed when working on my computer and dont want to have to stretch the cord across the room and thanks for pointing out the badlink
leglez is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 02:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

If you can afford, maybe instead a 3800+ X2.

Roger
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 08:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 27
Default

Is it possible to change cpus? Like say i get the 3700+ and a year or two down the road i want to upgrade to the 3800+ X2 would i beable to take the 3700+ out and put the 3800+ X2 and then re-install everything?

Also Would it be worth it to spend $30 more to get This mobo instead of this and if i did would it fit in my case it says its a little bigger
leglez is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 08:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

In a year or two the X2's will be inferior heh....

But yes you could if you wanted, though the 3700 will do nicely for quite a while.

As far as the motherboard, go with the SLI-DR that is $198, it is the best board money can buy, and you can OC the hell out of anything, even your sound card! :P

And any standard ATX case will do fine with it, your going to need very good power though.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 08:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 27
Default

Here is my case just cause i know i was run out of room of 5" slots

Here is my psu
leglez is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 09:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

That PSU is not that good. I would recommend the OCZ Powerstream 520 watt PSU. One of the best around IMO
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 04:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 27
Default

Will the OCZ psu work with SLI? i looked on the sli zone list and didnt see it
leglez is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 05:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 274
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by leglez
whats wrong with the mouse
Ther absoulutly nothing wrong with the logitech mx1000. I have one and it great. If you want to wait a little longer logitech is making a better wireless mouse then the mx1000 called the G7.

http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/pr...ONTENTID=10716

For those that like wired mouse they also making a G5 which going to be awsome. The weight on the G5 is going to be adjustable.

http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/pr...ONTENTID=10715
__________________

mgoldb2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.